Koomson, Rooney, Skea and Womack elected to SoA board

Koomson, Rooney, Skea and Womack elected to SoA board

Dorothy Koomson, Anne Rooney, Margaret Skea and Philip Womack are joining the Society of Authors' board of directors, after a record number of nominations were received for four vacancies.

The writers were elected by members and they will join the body’s management committee, responsible for the strategic direction of the organisation, after the SoA's 2020 a.g.m. on 19th November. This is when Ferdinand Dennis, former chair David Donachie, Mary Hoffman and Philip Womack (who has been re-elected for a further term) formally complete their three-year terms.

Members were invited to stand for election in June and a record 15 nominations were received for four vacancies.

Chair of the management committee Joanne Harris said: "Dorothy, Anne, Margaret and Philip will start their terms at a crucial point in the SoA’s history. This year has been an extraordinary year for the organisation and for the 11,400 writers, illustrators, translators and other creative professionals we represent. Next year will be no less of a challenge. As we begin to see the full impact of the health crisis on the incomes and wellbeing of our members, and on the industries they work in – and as those industries adapt to working outside the EU – the need has never been greater for strong union representation for every type of author at every stage of their careers. These new faces on the management committee will find themselves at the heart of that, and I very much look forward to working with them."

The full management committee for 2020/2021 comprises–in addition to Harris (chair), Koomson, Rooney, Skea and Womack–authors Simon Cann, Sam Collett, Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin, Abie Longstaff, Woodrow Phoenix, Katharine Quarmby and Hugh Roberts.