Kimmage surprise entry on William Hill shortlist

Kimmage surprise entry on William Hill shortlist

Paul Kimmage is the surprise inclusion in this year's William Hill Sports Book of the Year shortlist, after he was left out of the longlist.

His book Engage (Simon & Schuster), a biography of England Under 21 rugby player Matt Hampson who was paralysed after a scrum collapsed, joins titles examining the suicide of German international footballer Robert Enke, the culture of Spanish bullfighting and the range of different sporting fan cultures.

William Hill spokesman Graham Sharpe said: "Although the book had not been submitted for the prize at the time our longlist was announced, the members of our judging panel nevertheless agreed to consider it once it was brought to their attention, the outcome being that they have indicated they feel it merits inclusion on the shortlist.

"We would normally have selected six titles for the shortlist but the addition of Engage means there will be a magnificent seven titles this year, so no other author has been denied a place by its inclusion. This decision takes into account the feeling that it would be unfair to penalise a blameless author and subject."

It is the first time a book has been added to the shortlist despite it not originally featuring on the longlist. Simon & Schuster managing director Ian Chapman said: "I'm immensely thrilled and proud for Matt that the book is on the shortlist."

The winner will be announced on 28th November.

The shortlist in full:

Among The Fans: From Ashes to the Arrows, a Year of Watching the Watchers by Patrick Collins (Wisden Sports Writing)

Into The Arena: The World of the Spanish Bullfight by Alexander Fiske-Harrison (Profile Books)

The Ghost Runner: The Tragedy of the Man They Couldn't Stop by Bill Jones (Mainstream Publishing)

Engage: The Fall and Rise of Matt Hampson by Paul Kimmage (Simon & Schuster)

Racing Through The Dark: The Fall and Rise of David Millar by David Millar (Orion)

A Life Too Short: The Tragedy of Robert Enke by Ronald Reng (Yellow Jersey Press)

32 Programmes by Dave Roberts (Bantam Press)