Kearney to chair Baillie Gifford Prize judging panel

Kearney to chair Baillie Gifford Prize judging panel

BBC Radio 4 “Today” presenter Martha Kearney has been announced as the chair of this year's Baillie Gifford Prize judging panel.

Kearney will be joined on the panel by fellow BBC presenter, professor and author Shahidha Bari, editor and novelist Simon Ings, New Statesman writer Leo Robson, New York Times opinion editor Max Strasser and journalist and author Bee Wilson.

Kearney said: "It’s a time when books have become our companions more than ever before. I’m looking forward to welcoming the treasures of UK non-fiction into my home and celebrating them (at a safe distance) through the Baillie Gifford Prize."

The announcement coincides with the opening of submissions for this year’s prize. Publishers have until 12th June 2020 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1st November 2019 and 31st October 2020. More information about submissions is on the prize website.

Toby Mundy, director of the prize, said: “With all that that's happening in the world, the role of non-fiction writers is more critical than ever to enable us to separate fact from fiction and genuine explanation from mere opinion. We’re very grateful Martha Kearney for agreeing to chair of our award this year. She and her stellar collection of judges will once again have the task of selecting the best of this year’s non-fiction from another hugely diverse range of submissions.”

The winner of the 2020 prize will be announced on 19th November, following the longlist announcement in September and the shortlist in October.