Judges chosen for Warwick Prize for Writing

Judges chosen for Warwick Prize for Writing

Judges have been announced for the third Warwick Prize for Writing, which will be awarded next year.

The £25,000 prize is awarded every two years and can be given to a piece of writing in English from any discipline.

The three judges are Professor Ian Sansom from the University of Warwick; author Marina Warner; and Professor Ed Byrne, the vice-chancellor of Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, which shares an alliance with Warwick.

Sansom said: "The Warwick Prize for Writing is unique. There is nothing quite like it anywhere else in the world. Unfettered and unconfined, it acknowledges and rewards great writing of any kind, in any discipline, from anywhere."

Naomi Klein was the inaugural winner in 2009 for her book The Shock Doctrine (Penguin), while Peter Forbes won the second prize in 2011 for Dazzled and Deceived (Yale University Press).

Nominations for titles all come from staff and students at Warwick and Monash, with a longlist of 15 titles announced next May, followed by a shortlist of six titles in the summer. The winner will be announced by September, with the winner offered the chance to take up a short placement at the University of Warwick.