Flanders and Silva among Baillie Gifford prize judges

Flanders and Silva among Baillie Gifford prize judges

Judges for the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction, formerly known as the Samuel Johnson Prize, have been announced as submissions open for entry. 

On the panel will be leading economist Stephanie Flanders (pictured), in the role of chair, joined by science writer and author Philip Ball, executive comment editor of the Financial Times Jonathan Derbyshire, literary critic and scholar Dr Sophie Ratcliffe, and co-founder of the social enterprise, Second Home, Rohan Silva.

Submissions for the prize open today (23rd May) via a new website. Publishers have until 1st July 2016 to enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint with publication dates between 1st November 2015 and 31st October 2016. 

Toby Mundy, prize director, said: “We have a fantastic group of judges for this year's prize. With their varied backgrounds and expertise, they are well equipped to tackle the wide range of books that the prize attracts, from current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.”

The winner of the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction 2016 will be announced on Tuesday 15th November, following the shortlist announcement in October and longlist announcement in September.  

Prize money for the winner of the award has been boosted to £30,000 from the £20,000 previously awarded, and each of the shortlisted authors will receive £1,000.

Steve Silberman, whose Neurotribes was the first popular science book to win the Samuel Johnson Prize in 2015, will deliver the Baillie Gifford Lecture at Hay Festival on Saturday 28th May.