Jojo Moyes wins RNA Romantic Novel of the Year

Hodder author Jojo Moyes has won Romantic Novel of the Year at the Romantic Novelists' Association's (RNA) Pure Passion Awards, scooping the prize with The Last Letter from Your Lover.

Both Josephine Cox and Penny Jordan, published by HarperCollins and Avon respectively, won Outstanding Achievement Awards for their contributions to the genre.  The results were announced at a ceremony on 7th March, at One Whitehall Place, Westminster.

Cox said: "I am thrilled and delighted to be receiving such a prestigious award. It's something I never expected and I would like to thank all those concerned for thinking I am deserving of it."

Jordan, who was first published by Mills & Boon 30 years ago via a competition run by the RNA, said: "To receive this award from the RNA–the organisation that helped me toward my first publication via its New Writers' Programme-reinforces for me everything that the RNA is and does for the writing community."

The Historical Novel Prize went to Elizabeth Chadwick and her novel To Defy a King (Sphere), with the Romantic Comedy Prize won by Jill Mansell and Take a Chance on Me (Headline). Winner of Love Story of the Year, for a shorter romance with a strong emphasis on the developing central relationship, was won by Louise Allen with The Piratical Miss Ravenhurst (Mills & Boon).

RNA chair Katie Fforde said: "Once again, in our 51st year, the Romantic Novel of the Year Award has produced a sensational winner. Of Jojo Moyes' The Last Letter from Your Lover, the judges unanimously agreed that 'this novel combines exquisite writing, a truly romantic yet original theme and a blissfully satisfying ending. A worthy winner in a very strong list."

On the outstanding achievement winners, Fforde called Jordan "truly worthy of this award" and Cox "a legend", adding "It's likely that she's the favourite author of more people than any other writer".