J D Davies wins Samuel Pepys Award

<p>A book from new maritime publisher Seaforth has won the fourth Samuel Pepys Award. </p><p><em>Pepys&#39;s Navy</em> by novelist and historian J D Davies, which examines the English navy in the second half of the 17th century, was the unanimous choice of the judging panel which included Claire Tomalin, the Award&#39;s first winner. </p><p>Chair of the judges Ann Sweeney said she expected the book to become &quot;an enduring work of reference&quot;.</p>