IPG release 2014 Publishing Awards shortlist

IPG release 2014 Publishing Awards shortlist

The shortlists for the IPG Independent Publishing Awards have been released, with Nosy Crow, Constable & Robinson and Faber & Faber among those in the running.

There are 12 categories for this year’s awards, with a 13th award for the overall IPG Independent Publisher of the Year chosen from a shortlist made up of the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories.

The 2014 shortlists were compiled over two days of judging, and feature 27 companies and three individuals.

Judges said they were impressed by the “high standard of entries across the awards, especially in the categories for Children’s, Academic & Professional and Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year”, while the “strength of the Digital Publishing and Digital Marketing Awards reflects the innovation and ambition of independent publishing in this sphere now”.

Nosy Crow, Bloomsbury, Barefoot Books, Faber & Faber and Constable & Robinson each receive more than one nomination.

From this year the Newcomer Award is being associated with the late Nick Robinson, founder of Robinson Publishing and chairman of Constable & Robinson, whose “entrepreneurialism and spirit of independence inspired many IPG members over the years”.

Constable & Robinson, which this week announced its sale to Little, Brown, will provide mentoring support to the winner.

IPG chief executive Bridget Shine said: “We are delighted to honour the companies and individuals on our shortlists this year, and proud of the examples they give of the strength and diversity of independent publishing in the UK.

“We congratulate them all, and thank the many IPG members who submitted entries.
“Competition for the awards has been exceptionally strong this year, and we thank our judges for their careful deliberations and astute judgments.

“We look forward to celebrating our eighth annual set of winners - and the success of all independent publishers - at the end of February.”

The judging panel for this year’s awards includes James Daunt, m.d. of Waterstones; Tom Tivnan, features and insight editor at The Bookseller; David Roche, LBF Advisory Board chair; and Lindsey Mooney, vendor manager for Kobo in the UK.

The winners will be announced at a dinner on Thursday 27th February, during the IPG’s annual conference in Oxford.

The IPG Independent Publishing Awards are run in association with The Bookseller and The London Book Fair and sponsored by codeMantra, The Frankfurt Book Fair, Grantham Book Services, Ingram Content Group, Librios, Nielsen and PrintOnDemand Worldwide, and print sponsor, CMP.
The full shortlists are:

IPG Trade Publisher of the Year
John Blake, Constable & Robinson and Summersdale
IPG Children’s Publisher of the Year
Barefoot Books, Nosy Crow, Usborne Publishing and Walker Books

Frankfurt Book Fair Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year
Bloomsbury Academic & Professional, Edward Elgar Publishing, Liverpool University Press and SAGE
Librios Education Publisher of the Year
Bright Red Publishing and Crown House Publishing
PrintOnDemand Worldwide Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year
Absolute Press, How2Become, Quiller Publishing and Search Press
The Nick Robinson Newcomer Award
Critical Publishing, Fine Feather Press and Sedition Publishing
The London Book Fair International Achievement Award
Advance Materials, In Easy Steps and Nosy Crow
Ingram Content Group Digital Publishing Award
Bloomsbury Publishing, Faber & Faber, Jordan Publishing and
Nosy Crow
Nielsen Digital Marketing Award
Constable & Robinson, Faber & Faber and Nosy Crow
IPG Diversity Award
Accent Press, Barefoot Books and Phonic Books
IPG Young Independent Publisher of the Year
Tom Bonnick, Nosy Crow; Ola Gotkowska, Nosy Crow;
and David Henderson, Top That! Publishing
GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award
Attwooll Associates, Bounce Sales and Marketing, Compass Independent Publishing Services, Faber Factory, powered by Constellation and Faber Factory Plus