IPG Independent Publishers Awards shortlists see 10 new names for 2019

IPG Independent Publishers Awards shortlists see 10 new names for 2019

The Independent Publishers Guild (IPG) has announced the 12 shortlists for its annual awards, with five small presses up for at least two prizes and 10 featuring for the first time.

There are 27 different companies in the running for the 13th annual Independent Publishing Awards, which will be announced at a gala dinner on 2nd May during the IPG spring conference.

10 publishers - 404 Ink, Atlantic Books, Aurora Metro Books, Cicerone Press, Elliott & Thompson, Muswell Press, Nick Hern Books, Sweet Cherry Publishing, UCLan Publishing and Wonderbly – made the shortlists for the first time.

Meanwhile, Bloomsbury Publishing, Class Publishing, Kogan Page, Nosy Crow and SPCK all have two or more places on the shortlists.

In the IPG Trade Publisher of the Year category, Atlantic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing, Elliott & Thompson and Faber & Faber will all compete for the top prize.

Bloomsbury Children’s Books, Nosy Crow and Wonderbly are all in the running for Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year.

One more award, for the prestigious title of Ingram Content Group Independent Publisher of the Year, will be chosen from a shortlist made up of the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories.

IPG chief executive Bridget Shine said: “These 12 shortlists are a wonderful illustration of the diversity and ambition that is at play right across independent publishing in the UK at the moment. Our judges have faced an extremely tough job in whittling down a very strong field of entries, and these companies and individuals are truly the best of the best. Our 13th awards are going to be lucky for some, and we can’t wait to celebrate the success of all these amazing nominees at our Spring Conference in May.”

The 2019 Independent Publishing Awards is sponsored by Ingram Content Group, supporter of the overall Independent Publisher of the Year Award, Blackwell’s, GBS, Haremi, Inspired Selection, ProQuest, Publishers’ Licensing Services and The Bookseller.

The full shortlists:

IPG Trade Publisher of the Year: Atlantic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing, Elliott & Thompson, Faber & Faber

Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year: Bloomsbury Children’s Books, Nosy Crow, Wonderbly

ProQuest Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year: Bloomsbury Publishing, Academic and Professional Division, Class Publishing, Kogan Page, SAGE Publishing

PLS Education Publisher of the Year: Bloomsbury Publishing, Crown House Publishing

IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year: Cicerone Press, Nick Hern Books, SPCK

Nick Robinson Newcomer Award: 404 Ink, Muswell Press, UCLan Publishing

The Bookseller International Achievement Award: Jolly Learning, Kogan Page, Nosy Crow, Sweet Cherry Publishing

Haremi Digital Publishing Award: Bloomsbury Publishing, Class Publishing, Search Press, SPCK

IPG Marketing Award: Nosy Crow, Pluto Press, Walker Books

Alison Morrison Diversity Award: Aurora Metro Books, Carcanet Press, Zed Books

Inspired Selection Young Independent Publisher of the Year: Gemma Butler, How2Become; Ola Gotkowska, Nosy Crow;  Zeshan Qureshi, Zeshan Qureshi Ltd

GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award: BooksoniX, Inpress, Turnaround Publisher Services