IPG Independent Publishers Guild Awards shortlists unveiled

IPG Independent Publishers Guild Awards shortlists unveiled

Bloomsbury, Kogan Page and Nosy Crow each have three places on the shortlists for the Independent Publishers Guild (IPG) annual awards, which this year feature the highest number of nominations in 14 years. 

The shortlists [full listings below] feature a total of 47 nominations, showcasing the work of 32 different companies.

Nosy Crow, Sweet Cherry Publishing, Walker Books and Wonderbly will compete for the Blackwell's Children's Publisher of the Year. Shortlisted for the The Bookseller Young Independent Publisher of the Year are Vicky Barker at b small publishing, Sarah Head at SPCK and Michela Pea at Nosy Crow. 

Commenting on the shortlists, IPG chief executive Bridget Shine said: “It’s been a very challenging year for everyone in publishing, so it is wonderful to be able to pause to celebrate the outstanding achievements of the UK’s independent sector. These shortlists show the diversity and vibrancy of the IPG’s community, which is packed with resourceful, agile and ambitious businesses and individuals. While it’s sad to be unable to celebrate with them in person in 2020, we’re really looking forward to honouring their success in September.”

The winners of all the awards will be revealed in an online presentation on 22nd September 2020. One more award, for the title of Ingram Content Group Independent Publisher of the Year, will be chosen from a shortlist made up of the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories. 

The  2020 Independent Publishing Awards is sponsored by Ingram Content Group, supporter of the overall Independent Publisher of the Year Award, Blackwell’s, GBS, Publishers’ Licensing Services, The Bookseller, The Paperback Shop and Westchester Publishing Services.

The full shortlists: 

The Paperback Bookshop Trade Publisher of the Year
Atlantic Books, Faber & Faber, Oneworld, Sandstone Press

Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year
Nosy Crow, Sweet Cherry Publishing, Walker Books, Wonderbly

PLS Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year
Bloomsbury Publishing, Bristol University Press, Edward Elgar Publishing, Emerald Publishing, Kogan Page

Westchester Education Services Education Publisher of the Year
Bloomsbury Publishing, Crown House Publishing, Jolly Learning

IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year
How2Become, Search Press, SPCK, Uni Admissions Books

Nick Robinson Newcomer Award
Boldwood Books, Muswell Press, September Publishing

IPG International Achievement Award
Kogan Page, Nosy Crow, Walker Books

IPG Digital Publishing Award
Barefoot Books, Bloomsbury Publishing, How2Become, Kogan Page

IPG Marketing Award
Atlantic Books, Bristol University Press, Quarto, Usborne Publishing

Alison Morrison Diversity Award
Aurora Metro Books, Barefoot Books, Carcanet Press

IPG Sustainability Award
Cambridge University Press, Lonely Planet, Nosy Crow

The Bookseller Young Independent Publisher of the Year
Vicky Barker, b small publishing; Sarah Head, SPCK; Michela Pea, Nosy Crow

GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award
Compass Independent Publishing Services, Inpress, Suzanne Collier, Virtusales Publishing Solutions