Search Press and Nosy Crow triumph at IPG Awards

Search Press and Nosy Crow triumph at IPG Awards

Search Press and Nosy Crow were both double winners at the Independent Publishers Guild Independent Publishing Awards 2015.

Winners of the 13 categories were announced at a gala dinner hosted by author and publisher John Mitchinson at the IPG spring conference last night (5th March).

Search Press was named IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year, and also went on to win the Fox Williams Independent Publisher of the Year, and award chosen from the winners of the five publishing category winners.

Martin de la Bedoyere, accepting the company's second award of the evening, said that Search Press was "truly independent", with the company still doing its own distribution.

"If this award means we can prosper for a bit longer, then it's good," he added.

Nosy Crow was given the Nielsen Digital Marketing Award. Founder Kate Wilson said: "The thing is, you can only digitally market when you have great stuff, and we have really, really great stuff."

The company's business development manager Tom Bonnick also picked up the IPG Young Independent Publisher of the Year Award. He said: "This is the only publishing job I've had. I feel like I have grown up here, and I very much hope to grow old here as well."

The Nick Robinson Newcomer Award, named in honour of the late chairman of Constable & Robinson and presented by his widow Nova Jayne Robinson, was given to Rowman & Littlefield International.

Edward Elgar Publishing won the Ingram Content Group Digital Publishing Award.

The IPG Children's Publisher of the Year was given to Walker Books. Sales and marketing director Ed Ripley collected the trophy, and said: "This is complete testament to all the hard work, energy and creativity at Walker Books.

"More importantly, it's about our authors and illustrators, without them we are nothing."

Illuminate Publishing won the Librios Education Publisher of the Year Award.

The Alison Morrison Diversity Award, renamed this year in memory of Dipnet co-founder Morrison who died last year, was given to Carcanet Press for its commitment to publishing authors from a diverse range of backgrounds.

Liverpool University Press won the Frankfurt Book Fair Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year, with m.d. Anthony Cond paying tribute to the work of mid-sized university presses in his speech.  

The Bookseller International Achievement Award was given to Letterland, while Pavilion Books was awarded the Inkubate Trade Publisher of the Year honour, and Faber Factory picked up the GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award.

IPG chief executive Bridget Shine said: “We are thrilled to be honouring our ninth set of winners of the IPG Independent Publishing Awards. Entries for the Awards were exceptionally strong this year, and our judges had to work long and hard to produce their shortlists and winners. We also thank our sponsors and all the IPG members who entered and helped to make our awards night such a wonderful occasion. These winners prove that independent publishing in the UK is in fine fettle, and we applaud them all.”