International Booker Prize reveals 2021 judges

International Booker Prize reveals 2021 judges

The International Booker Prize has revealed its judging panel for next year's award, to be chaired by cultural historian and novelist Lucy Hughes-Hallett.

Writer Aida Edemariam, novelist Neel Mukherjee, history professor Olivette Otele and author George Szirtes will also join the judges.

Because the pandemic delayed the announcement of this year's prize, scooped by Marieke Lucas Rijneveld and Michele Hutchison for The Discomfort of Evening (Faber), the 2021 judges have actually been in post since May and have already started reading through submissions.

The annual £50,000 prize, split equally between author and translator, is awarded to the best work of translated fiction, selected from entries published in the UK and Ireland between 1st May 2020 and 30th April 2021.

Fiammetta Rocco, administrator of the International Booker Prize, said: “As historians, biographers, poets and translators, the five judges bring a wealth of experience to the task at hand. Their reading will range widely and their discussions will be probing. The choices they make will bring new authors and translators to the attention of readers around the world.”

The “Booker Dozen” of 12 or 13 books on the 2021 International Prize longlist will be announced in March 2020 and the shortlist of six books in April. The winners will be announced in May.

Trade paperback sales of this year's winner have increased seven-fold in the UK since it scooped the prize and Faber brought publication of the paperback forward to 24th September 2020 from March 2021, award organisers said.