Independent Booksellers Book Prize shortlists unveiled

Readers are being called to cast their vote for the Independent Booksellers’ Book Prize winner, after the shortlist was announced today (19th May).

The annual award, which recognises works of fiction for adults and children, requires members of the public to choose which one of 10 adult and 12 children’s titles they think deserves to be crowned.

Titles were selected by a judging panel of independent booksellers from nominations put forward by publishers. Shortlisted adult titles include Edmund de Waal’s The Hare with Amber Eyes (Vintage) and Helen Dunmore’s The Betrayal (Fig Tree). Nominations in the children’s category include The Dead by Charlie Higson (Puffin) and The 13 Secrets by Michelle Harrison (Simon & Schuster)

The award is run by the Booksellers Association and readers will be asked to cast their votes from the first day of Independent Booksellers Week on 18th June until 30th August by emailing or by using a leaflet they have collected from their independent bookshop. The winner is announced in September.

Point of sale posters, stickers and other material have been created by the BA for its indie members to promote the competition. In addition, the shortlisted titles will all feature in an A4 colour booklet containing illustrations and editorial copy provided by publishers which will also be given out to encourage bookshops to recommend the shortlisted titles to their reading groups during Independent Booksellers Week.

The shortlists are:
Independent Booksellers’ Book Prize 2011 – adults

The Hare with Amber Eyes - Edmund de Waal (Vintage Books)
The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet - David Mitchell (Sceptre)
Empire of the Clouds - James Hamilton-Paterson (Faber and Faber)
The Betrayal - Helen Dunmore (Fig Tree/Penguin)
The Man in the Wooden Hat - Jane Gardam (Abacus)
Skippy Dies - Paul Murray (Penguin)
The Empty Family - Colm Toibin (Penguin)
The Forgotten Highlander  - Alistair Urquhart (Abacus)
Peter Pan’s First XI - Kevin Telfer (Sceptre)
The Butterfly Isles - Patrick Barkham (Granta)
Independent Booksellers’ Book Prize 2011 – childrens

The Dead - Charlie Higson (Puffin)
CHERUB: Shadow Wave - Robert Muchamore (Hodder Children’s)
The Kane Chronicles: Red Pyramid - Rick Riordan (Puffin)
The Joshua Files: Dark Parallel - MG Harris (Scholastic)
The 13 Secrets - Michelle Harrison (Simon & Schuster)
Artemis Fowl & The Atlantis Complex - Eoin Colfer (Puffin)
Time Riders: The Doomsday Code - Alex Scarrow (Puffin)
An Imaginary Menagerie - Roger McGough (Frances Lincoln)
Young Samurai: The Ring of Water - Chris Bradford (Puffin)
The Saga of Larten Crepsley: Birth of a Killer - Darren Shan (HarperCollins Children’s)
School According to Humphrey - Betty G Birney (Faber Children’s)
Magicalamity - Kate Saunders (Scholastic)