Imlah heads T S Eliot prize shortlist

<p>Poet Mick Imlah, whose<em> The Lost Leader</em> (Faber) won the 2008 Forward Prize for Best Collection, has been shortlisted for the 2008 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry for the same collection. </p><p>The other shortlisted poets are: Moniza Alvi for <em>Europa</em> (Bloodaxe); Peter Bennet for <em>The Glass Swarm</em> (Flambard); Ciaran Carson for <em>For All We Know</em> (Gallery Books); Robert Crawford for <em>Full Volume</em> (Jonathan Cape); Maura Dooley for <em>Life Under Water</em> (Bloodaxe); Mark Doty for <em>Theories and Apparitions</em> (Jonathan Cape); Jen Hadfield for <em>Nigh-No-Place </em>(Bloodaxe); Glyn Maxwell for <em>Hide Now</em> (Picador) and Stephen Romer for <em>Yellow Studio</em> (Carcanet).</p><p>It is the largest cash award in British poetry: the winner will receive &pound;15,000, an increase of &pound;5,000 since 2007. Each of the shortlisted poets will also receive &pound;1,000. </p><p>This year&rsquo;s competition, the 15th, attracted 90 entries from publishers. It is awarded for the year&rsquo;s best new collection of poetry published in the UK and Ireland and is judged by a panel of established poets. This year the panel comprised Andrew Motion, Lavinia Greenlaw and Tobias Hill. <br />Poet Laureate Motion said: &ldquo;The 10 books on the shortlist are all significant achievements in themselves&mdash;richly imagined, formally enterprising, emotionally intelligent and impor&shy;tantly varied.&rdquo; He added: &ldquo;They also bear witness to the vitality of contemporary poetry as a whole, and make the prize an occasion for general congratulation.&rdquo;</p><p>The winner will be announced on the 12th January 2009, and all 10 poets will appear at a poetry reading on the eve of the event at the Southbank Centre in London.</p><p>&nbsp;</p>