IBW book award 2015 shortlist revealed

IBW book award 2015 shortlist revealed

Former Costa and Booker winners from Vintage have made it onto the Independent Booksellers Week (IBW) Awards shortlist for 2015. 

H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald (Vintage) and The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (Vintage) have been picked as two of the shortlisted books on the adult category of the IBW book award.

Other books listed in the adult category are Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey (Penguin), The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters (Virago), Sapiens: A Brief History Of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari (Vintage), Nora Webster by Colm Toibin (Penguin), The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell (Sceptre), Please Mister Postman by Alan Johnson (Corgi), The Children Act by Ian McEwan (Vintage) and The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher: Stories by Hilary Mantel (Fourth Estate).

Alan Johnson said: "I'm delighted to be shortlisted for this prize. Independent bookshops have a profound sense of what their customers like to read which is why I regard this shortlisting as a particular honour."

The children's finalists include Jacqueline Wilson for her Opal Plumstead (Corgi).

She said: “I especially love buying books in independent bookshops," she said. "It's such a delight to go into a shop with a quirky display in the window, and browse shelves stuffed with special treasures. The staff are always friendly and informed and we often have lovely chats about our favourite books." Corgi also has another book on the children's shortlist - Itchcraft by Simon Mayo.

The other children's finalists include Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders (Faber & Faber), Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan (Bloomsbury), The 13-Storey Treehouse by Andy Griffiths, illustrated by Terry Denton (Macmillan), A Song For Ella Grey by David Almond (Hodder), The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge (Macmillan), An Island of Our Own by Sally Nicholls (Scholastic), Running Girl by Simon Mason (David Fickling Books),  The Parent Agency by David Baddiel (HarperCollins), The Farm Beneath the Water by Helen Peters (Nosy Crow) and lastly, The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald (Orion Children’s Books).


The Children’s and Picture Book Awards judges included: Patrick Neale (Chair); Polly Jaffe (Jaffe & Neale, Chipping Norton); Helen Stanton (Forum Books, Corbridge), Nicola Davies (author and 2014 IBW Book Award winner) and Emily Drabble (Children’s Editor, Guardian online).

Walker Books has four titles on the children’s picture book shortlist. Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton, A Walk in Paris by Salvatore Rubbino, The Way to the Zoo by John Burningham and The Mouse Who Ate the Moon by Petr Horacek.

Bears Don’t Read by Emma Chichester Clark (HarperCollins), Wanted! Ralfy Rabbit Book Burglar by Emily Mackenzie (Bloomsbury),

Use Your Imagination by Nicola O’Byrne (Nosy Crow), Blown Away by Rob Biddulph (HarperCollins), The Something by Rebecca Cobb (Macmillan), Little Red and the Very Hungry Lion by Alex T Smith (Scholastic) Never Tickle a Tiger by Pamela Butchart and Marc Boutavant (Bloomsbury) and Monsters Love Underpants by Claire Freeeman and Ben Corr (Simon & Schuster). 

Meryl Halls, head of membership services, The Booksellers Association, commented, saying: “The IBW Book Award is now in its ninth year, and every year we are increasingly impressed by the quality of the titles submitted, and gratified by their diversity. We also had lots of lovely entries for the children’s picture book category, which we introduced last year. The award is an integral part of IBW and all the shortlisted titles will be promoted by all bookshops taking part in this year’s IBW.”