HQ scoops film-maker's 'emotional' debut

HQ scoops film-maker's 'emotional' debut

HQ has acquired the debut novel Love & Other Things to Live For, described as being perfect for fans of Sally Rooney and Dolly Alderton, by film-maker Louise Leverett.

Billed as “an emotional work of fiction” about the “trials and tribulations of love in your 20s” by HQ, the novel follows Jessica Wood, an aspiring photographer living in London. With a newly broken heart, she’s facing a battle between the past and the future, choosing between having a life, or making a living – finding her feet or spreading her wings.

Editor Clio Cornish acquired world English language rights from Juliet Mushens at Caskie Mushens and will publish in paperback, e-book and audio book in spring 2019.

Leverett runs her own motion picture production company, Rock the Tribes, providing film and imagery to brands, artists and businesses such as HarperCollins, Head of Zeus and Alexander McQueen.

“Louise has an incredible ability to tap into the soul and draw out difficult and emotional experiences with an unflinching but empathetic eye,” said Cornish. “Effortlessly taking the reader on a journey through the peaks and pitfalls of life as a young woman in London, this a beautifully written, extremely timely debut novel, and a perfect addition to HQ’s list."

Leverett said: "I am incredibly excited to be releasing my debut with HQ. Having spent my twenties growing up in London I cannot think of a better setting for my novel. Writing Love, and Other Things to Live For has been an extremely creative and rewarding experience and, of course, could not have been done without the support and brilliance from all the team at HQ."