HQ buys 'powerful' third novel from Hello! editor-in-chief Nixon

HQ buys 'powerful' third novel from Hello! editor-in-chief Nixon

HQ has bought the “powerful, hilarious and deeply emotional” new novel from Hello! editor-in-chief Rosie Nixon in a two-book deal.

Executive publisher Lisa Milton acquired UK and Commonwealth rights for Only Ever Yours from Jenny Savill at Andrew Nurnberg Associates.  It will be published in paperback, e-book and audio in June 2020.

The publisher explained: “Poignant and emotional women’s fiction, Only Ever Yours is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lauren Weisberger. In Rosie’s latest novel, two women join a baby group, only to realise that some secrets never stay secret for long – and that this time, the truth might just change everything. Told from the alternating perspectives of Aisha and Lucy, the novel takes the reader on a rollercoaster journey of first love, friendship and one woman’s desire to become a mum – but perhaps all isn’t quite as it seems…”

Nixon has worked in magazines for over 20 years, including senior positions at Grazia, Glamour and Red. She is the author or two previous novels includingThe Stylist (HQ), which is currently in pre-production as a feature film.

She said: “It has taken me over two years to write this book and it’s a departure from my previous two novels, but it’s been a labour of love. I have hugely enjoyed revisiting my memories of the first year of motherhood. From coping with gritty moments like nappy explosions in cafes and living in a fog of tiredness, to the feeling of pure love and wonderment at becoming a mother. Although my experience was thankfully not as eventful in terms of sex and relationships as it is for my characters Lucy and Aisha, when one of the women’s quest to find The One nearly destroys both of their lives. I really hope readers will be as enthralled and entertained by the story as I was writing it.”

Milton added: “We’re delighted to have acquired two more brilliant books from Rosie Nixon. Only Ever Yours is a powerful, hilarious and deeply emotional novel that will resonate with so many women, we’re so excited to be publishing her latest book in summer next year and to share her exquisite writing with even more readers.”