Helen Monks Takhar’s millennial thriller set for TV adaptation

Helen Monks Takhar’s millennial thriller set for TV adaptation

Helen Monks Takhar’s debut thriller about a millennial ‘snowflake’ intern pitted against an older editor, Precious You (HQ), is to be turned into a TV show.

Television rights for Precious You have been sold to Entertainment One, also known as eOne - a Canadian media and entertainment company, and London-based production company Mam Tor Productions by Emily Hayward-Whitlock at The Artists Partnership working in association with Hellie Ogden at Janklow and Nesbit UK. Entertainment One are known for producing “Sharp Objects” for HBO, and “Designated Survivor" for ABC and Netflix, and have partnered with Mam Tor, a new British production company set up by Tally Garner, former head of film and TV at Cuba Pictures. The book is being adapted by the Monks Takhar, a former journalist, and her husband Danny Takhar, who is a former Sky executive.

Precious You, described by Ogden as “a darkly compulsive psychological suspense in the vein of Jessica Knoll and Sarah Pinborough”, was pre-empted by Emily Kitchin at HQ in September last year from Ogden. It will be published 2nd April 2020. Clio Seraphim at Random House US bought two books at auction from Allison Hunter at Janklow & Nesbit US and will publish March 10th 2020.

Translation rights have been sold in a further six territories; as pre-empts to Xander in the Netherlands and Nord in Italy, at auction to Otwarte in Poland, and to Like in Finland, Euromedia in the Czech Republic and Eksmo in Russia.