Harvill Secker buys more Arne Dahl

Harvill Secker buys more Arne Dahl

Harvill Secker has bought two more books from Swedish crime novelist Arne Dahl, whose The Blinded Man is currently a TV drama on BBC4 in the same Saturday night slot as Scandinavian hits “The Killing” and “The Bridge.”

Senior crime editor Alison Hennessey bought UK and Commonwealth rights, excluding Canada, in the novels from Tor Jonasson at the Salomonsson Agency.

Hennessey said: "We knew when we acquired the first two books in Arne Dahl's crime series that he would go on to become one of the leading lights of our crime fiction list . . . Arne's books are perfect for fans of Henning Mankell and upmarket, international crime."

Dahl’s books feature Detective Paul Hjelm. The Blinded Man was published by Vintage in July 2012, with the second title, Bad Blood, out from Harvill Secker this July.

The two newly-acquired books feature Hjelm and his team investigating a series of crimes in To the Top of the Mountain, and trying to establish links between the execution of a man at Stockholm Zoo, the abduction of eight Eastern European women, and the murder of a professor at a Jewish cemetery, in Europa Blues.
 

 

Photo credit: Sara Arnald