Harris to chair Costa Book of the Year judges

Harris to chair Costa Book of the Year judges

Author Robert Harris will chair the judging panel for the 2014 Costa Book of the Year.

He will be joined by writers Maggie O’Farrell, Bernadine Evaristo, Jonathan Stroud, Owen Sheers and Wendy Moore, actress Dame Diana Rigg, the BBC’s economics editor Robert Peston, and actress Samantha Bond.

The nine-member panel will select the overall Costa Book of the Year from the category winners of the Costa Book Awards.

The panel includes one judge from each category panel, plus three people from outside publishing.

The five category judging panels are represented by O’Farrell (First Novel Award), Evaristo (Novel), Stroud (Children’s Book Award), Sheers (Poetry) and Moore (Biography).

The judges will meet on Tuesday 27th January 2015 to select the winner of the Costa Book of the Year, which will be announced at an awards ceremony later that evening.

The ceremony, hosted by presenter and broadcaster Penny Smith, will take place at Quaglino’s in central London.

Christopher Rogers, m.d. at Costa, said: “What a stellar line-up of judges we have this year, all of whom share a passion for excellent writing and a good read.

“We're thrilled to have such a fine panel of well-read people to undertake the task of selecting the Costa Book of the Year in January.”  

The shortlists for the Costa Book Awards was revealed in November, following a record year for entries.