HarperCollins scoops fantasy debut in two-book deal

HarperCollins scoops fantasy debut in two-book deal

HarperCollins has acquired world English rights to The Black Hawks by David Wragg, a fantasy debut in which a band of mercenaries take on corrupt religious authorities. 

Natasha Bardon, publishing director at HarperVoyager, acquired rights to two books from Harry Illingworth at DHH Literary Agency.

Slated for publication on 19th August, The Black Hawks, which begins a planned duology, follows an idealistic soldier who finds himself escorting a selfish young prince to safety after an attack on his nation’s capital. Pursued by assassins and fanatics, they join a company of deadly, constantly bickering, mercenaries to cross a landscape torn apart by conflict.

Bardon said: “The Black Hawks is a lot of fun. I love epic fantasy with pithy, quick-witted characters and Dave’s has it in spades. I think readers will thoroughly enjoy this terrific debut.”

Illingworth said Wragg’s debut “has everything that I love in a fantasy novel; whilst it can be dark, it is constantly hilarious in the vein of Scott Lynch or Kings of the Wyld, with a writing style comparable to Joe Abercombie. The dialogue is razor sharp, the world big, the writing intelligent and the cast of characters superb.”