Harman and Clegg up for Parliamentary Book Awards

Harman and Clegg up for Parliamentary Book Awards

Harriet Harman, Nick Clegg and former Greek finance minister Yanis Varoufakis are among the writer politicians shortlisted for the Parliamentary Book Awards, voted for by parliamentarians.

Launched by the Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association in 2016, the awards aim to celebrate the best of political writing and the long-standing link between politics, books and publishing.

The awards celebrate parliamentary writing across three categories: Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian; Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian; and Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian.

Up for Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian are A Woman’s Work by Harriet Harman (Allen Lane), Everywoman: One Woman’s Truth About Speaking the Truth by Jess Phillips (Hutchinson), and First Confession by Chris Patten (Allen Lane).

Shortlisted for Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian are How to Stop Brexit by Nick Clegg (Bodley Head), War and the Death of News by Martin Bell (Oneworld), and Richard III by Chris Skidmore (W&N).

In the running for Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian are Jo Cox: More in Common by Brendan Cox (Two Roads), Adults in the Room by Yanis Varoufakis (Bodley Head), and Things Can Only Get Worse?: Twenty Confusing Years in the Life of a Labour Supporter by John O’Farrell (Doubleday).

Publishers were invited to nominate books and authors for the awards, and the shortlist was drawn up by booksellers. Voting is now open for parliamentarians to decide the winner in each category.

The awards will be presented at a parliamentary reception in the House of Commons on 5th December.

Stephen Lotinga, PA c.e.o., said: “This year’s shortlist demonstrates the vital contribution books make to our political landscape. From exploring what life is like to work as a female MP to reflecting on the current state of the news industry, these titles highlight the value books can play in contributing to important political debates and in giving the public insight into the lives of those making decisions on their behalf.”

Tim Godfray, c.e.o. of the BA, said: “Last year’s awards was a great success, and we are looking forward to celebrating yet another fascinating and influential shortlist of books. The shortlists that have been curated by Britain’s booksellers are richly varied and include some books that are very much for the moment; written by some of our country’s leading parliamentarians and those closely related to the world of politics. The decision on the winner of each category is now in the hands of our parliamentarians, who have the next few weeks to vote for their favourite.”