Hacking scandal book on Financial Times awards shortlist

Hacking scandal book on Financial Times awards shortlist

Journalist Nick Davies’ book on the hacking scandal and Thomas Piketty’s Capital in the Twenty-First Century (Belknap Press/Harvard University Press) are among the titles shortlisted for the Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award.

The £30,000 award is given to the most influential business book of the year, with the five shortlisted titles getting £10,000.

Joining Davies’ Hack Attack: How the Truth Caught up with Rupert (Chatto & Windus) and Piketty on the shortlist are Dragnet Nation: A Quest for Privacy, Security, and Freedom in a World of Relentless Surveillance by Julia Angwin (Times Books/Henry Holt); The Second Machine Age: Work, Progress, and Prosperity in a Time of Brilliant Technologies by Erik Brynjolfsson and Andrew McAfee (W. W. Norton Ltd); Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces that Stand in the Way of True Inspiration by Ed Catmull (Bantam Press); and House of Debt: How They (and You) Caused the Great Recession, and How We Can Prevent It from Happening Again by Atif Mian and Amir Sufi (University of Chicago Press).

Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times, said: “This year’s shortlist will inspire readers to be creative thinkers and to sharpen their understanding of the most important trends shaping our world today. From income inequality to privacy in the internet age, the provocative questions raised by this year’s titles have been addressed with originality, depth of research and lively writing.”

Dominic Barton, global m.d. of McKinsey & Company, said: “The range of topics and quality of insights covered by this year’s books is as inspiring as it is enlightening.”
The winner will be announced at a dinner ceremony on November 11th in London, co-hosted by Lionel Barber and Dominic Barton. Tony Hall, director-general of the BBC will give the keynote speech.

The judging panel, chaired by Barber, includes Steve Coll, Dean of the School of Journalism at Columbia University in New York; Steven Denning, chairman, General Atlantic LLC; Mohamed El-Erian, member, Allianz International Executive Board and chief economic advisor to its management board and chairman, President Obama’s Global Development Council; Herminia Ibarra, Cora chaired professor of leadership and learning professor of organisational Behavior, Insead; Rik Kirkland, partner and director of publishing McKinsey & Company; and Shriti Vadera, director of Shriti Vadera Ltd, non-executive director of BHP Billiton and AstraZeneca.

The 2013 winner was Brad Stone for The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (Bantam Press).