Hachette, Pan Mac, Foyles lead Bookseller Industry Awards chase

Hachette, Pan Mac, Foyles lead Bookseller Industry Awards chase

A near-record haul from Hachette UK, an impressive total for Pan Macmillan and a history-making all-female Manager of the Year category are some of the highlights in this year's Bookseller Industry Awards (BIA) shortlists.

Hachette leads the way with 15 BIA shortlist nods—one off its record 16 entries in 2014—the third straight year the group has scored double digits in nominations. Hachette companies Orion, Hodder & Stoughton and holders Little, Brown now vie for the coveted Publisher of the Year crown, competing against HarperCollins, Pan Mac, Profile and two Penguin Random House divisions: Ebury and Vintage.

PRH nabbed 10 shortlistings, while HarperCollins notched up five. Yet given the relative size of the businesses, Pan Mac’s company-record eight nominations are arguably the most impressive major group tally. Intriguingly, Pan Mac has two entries apiece in both the Editor and Imprint categories, with Maria Rejt and her Mantle imprint squaring off against Picador and its editorial director Francesca Main.

Foyles tops retailers with six nods, boosted by shortlistings in the Marketing and Publicity categories for the opening of its new flagship Charing Cross Road branch. Waterstones and Blackwell’s both have four entries, and will battle with Foyles and Galway-based e-tailer Kennys.ie for Book Retailer of the Year, sponsored by Bertrams. Last year Blackwell's wrested the crown from Foyles which had won the title for two consecutive years.

History has been made in the Manager of the Year Award Sponsored by Books Are My Bag. For the first time ever, the entire shortlist is made up of women— in a category which has never been won by a woman.

Bloomsbury Academic and Professional and Edward Elgar Publishing will try to make history on the night. The two publishers are nominated once again in the Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year and Independent Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year categories, respectively, both trying to win for an unprecedented third win on the trot.    

Profile leads the way for independent publishers with three nominations: Imprint of the Year Sponsored by FMcM (for Serpent's Tail), Independent Publisher of the Year, and the overall Publisher of the Year.

Two independent bookshops impressively match Profile's tally: The Edinburgh Bookshop and Storytellers, Inc of Lytham St Annes, Lancashire. The two shops will compete against each other in three categories: Independent Bookshop of the Year (IBOTY) Sponsored by Gardners, Children's Bookseller of the Year Sponsored by Macmillan's Children's Books and Manager of the Year (with Edinburgh's Marie Moser and Storyteller's mother/daughter team of Carolyn and Katie Clapham representing their shops). Both shops have previous BIA wins: Katie Clapham won the HarperCollins Young Retailer of the Year in 2012 while The Edinburgh Bookshop is the reigning Children's Bookseller of the Year.     

In total, 21 awards will be handed out on the night: those listed below, plus the Independent Bookshop of the Year Sponsored by Gardners (regional winners were announced last week); the non-shortlisted Bookseller’s Special Award, which salutes a single entity for innovation; the Booksellers Association’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Book Trade, given to an individual; and a new prize for 2015, the Bookseller’s Book of the Year Award sponsored by Ingram.

The ceremony takes place on 11th May at the Hilton, Park Lane in London. For more information and table bookings visit the awards website.

The shortlists in full:


Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year

Bloomsbury Academic and Professional
Collins Learning (HarperCollins)
Hodder Education
Oxford University Press
Scholastic Education

Book Retailer of the Year


Children's Bookseller of the Year

Storytellers, Inc.
The Book Nook
The Edinburgh Bookshop

Children's Publisher of the Year

Chicken House
Egmont Publishing
Hachette Children's Books
HarperCollins Children's Books
Nosy Crow
Simon & Schuster Children's Books
Usborne Publishing

Digital Business of the Year

Head of Zeus
John Smith's
Lost My Name
Pan Macmillan

Editor of the Year

Alan Samson - Weidenfeld & Nicolson and Orion
Charlotte Hardman - Coronet
Francesca Main - Picador
Kimberley Young - HarperFiction
Maria Rejt - Mantle
Sarah Adams - Transworld Publishers
Venetia Butterfield - Viking and Penguin Books

HarperCollins Young Retailer of the Year, in honour of Sue Butterworth

Imogen Hargreaves - Mostly Books
Joe Tagg - Blackwell's
Louise Corcoran - Foyles
Rory Hill - The Book Hive
Scott Campbell - Waterstones

Imprint of the Year

Blink Publishing - Bonnier Publishing
Chatto & Windus - Penguin Random House
Mantle - Pan Macmillan
Orbit - Little, Brown Book Group
Picador - Pan Macmillan
Serpent's Tail - Profile Books
Weidenfeld & Nicolson - Orion Publishing Group

Independent Academic, Educational and Professional Publisher of the Year

Edinburgh University Press
Edward Elgar Publishing
John Catt Educational
Liverpool University Press

Independent Bookshop of the Year

Booka Bookshop - Midlands and Wales
Caxton Books & Gallery - East England
Chorleywood Bookshop - South-East England
Regency Bookshop - London
Storytellers, Inc. - North England
The Edinburgh Bookshop - Scotland
The Gutter Bookshop - Ireland
The Hungerford Bookshop - South-West England

Independent Publisher of the Year

Biteback Publishing
Carcanet Press
Head of Zeus
Nosy Crow
Pavilion Books
Profile Books
Pushkin Press

Library of the Year

Claude Ramsey Library, Greenwich
Dudley Libraries
Exeter Library
Orkney Library & Archive
Sunderland City Library Service
Wigan Library

Literary Agent of the Year

Andrew Lownie - Andrew Lownie Literary Agency
Anna Webber - United Agents
Eugenie Furniss - Furniss Lawton
Eve White - The Eve White Literary Agency
Gordon Wise - Curtis Brown
Juliet Mushens - The Agency Group

Manager of the Year

Carolyn and Katie Clapham - Storytellers, Inc
Janette Cross - Foyles
Jen Shenton - Waterstones
Marie Moser - The Edinburgh Bookshop
Rebecca MacAlister - Blackwell's

Marketing Strategy of the Year

Foyles 107 Charing Cross Road Launch - Foyles
HarperCollins Virtual Festivals - HarperCollins
James Patterson is Missing - Penguin Random House
Letters Live - Canongate
The Girl With All the Gifts - Orbit
The Lemon Grove - Tinder Press, Headline
We Help Make Christmas Easy - Eason
You Are Here - Pan Macmillan

Publicity Campaign

Annabel Robinson, FMcM & Tania Vian-Smith, Penguin - Half Bad by Sally Green
Emma Knight, Hodder & Stoughton - There's Something I've Been Dying to Tell You by Lynda Bellingham
Four Colman Getty - Foyles 107 Charing Cross Road Launch
Georgina Moore, Headline - The Lemon Grove by Helen Walsh
Ruth Waldram, Jonathan Cape - H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald
Sandra Taylor, Picador - The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

Publisher of the Year

Hodder & Stoughton
Little, Brown
Pan Macmillan

Rights Professional of the Year

Alex Nicholas - Orion Children's Books
Alexandra McNicoll - Conville & Walsh
Kate Hibbert - Little, Brown
Paula Ziedna - Usborne Publishing
Pinelopi Pourpoutidou and Mauro Spagnol - Michael O'Mara
Rachel Mills - Peters, Fraser and Dunlop
The Penguin rights team - Penguin