Hachette Children’s Group takes two from Bailey

Hachette Children’s Group takes two from Bailey

Hachette Children’s Group has signed two books from award-winning mental health campaigner and author Lily Bailey.

When I See Blue, the first book in the deal, will be published in paperback, e-book and audio on 9th June 2022 by Orion Children’s Books. Naomi Greenwood, senior commissioning editor at Hachette Children’s Group, secured world rights in a deal with Cecilia de la Campa and Daniel Lazar at Writers House.

The publisher said: “Perfect for readers of A Kind of Spark and The Goldfish Boy, When I See Blue is a heartfelt story about Ben, a boy with OCD [obsessive compulsive disorder], which celebrates how friendship can make you brave and help you find the strength to overcome anything. Sometimes Ben's brain makes him count to four to prevent bad things happening. Sometimes it makes him tap or blink in fours. Mostly it makes the smallest things feel impossible. And with a new school, a moody big brother, an absent dad and a mum battling her own demons, Ben feels more out of control than ever. But then he meets April and with his new friend Ben he might finally figure out how to stand up to the bully in his brain, once and for all.”

Greenwood said: “When I See Blue is middle grade at its very best, written by a truly remarkable author. Ben is an unforgettable narrator, and through his story, Lily is sharing her own OCD journey with so much heart and honesty. More than ever, young people need stories that promote empathy, courage and kindness and When I See Blue does that in spades. I can’t wait to share this life-affirming story and I am absolutely delighted to be welcoming Lily to Hachette Children’s Group – she is definitely one to watch!’

Bailey added: “Growing up with OCD can be a very lonely and frightening experience. When I See Blue is the kind of book I wish I had been able to read when I was a child, and I hope readers find a friend in Ben. It's such a privilege to have been able to bring this story to life, and I can't wait to connect with younger readers!’