Gross wins T S Eliot Prize

<p>A &quot;dream-like&quot; collection of poetry by Glamorgan University professor Philip Gross has won the &pound;15,000 2009 T S Eliot Prize for poetry.<br /><br />Gross&#39; <em>The Water Table</em>, published by Bloodaxe, scooped the prize at a ceremony this evening (18th January). He beat established names such as Fred D&#39;Aguiar and George Szirtes. </p><p>The T S Eliot Prize for Poetry was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society&#39;s 40th birthday and honour its founding poet.<br /><br />Chair Simon Armitage said: &quot;Gross takes us from Great Flood to subtly invoked concerns for our watery planet; this is a mature and determined book, dream-like in places, but dealing ultimately with real questions of human existence.&quot;<br /><br />Each of the shortlisted poets also received &pound;1,000 each. </p><p><strong>The shortlist in full: </strong></p><p>Eil&eacute;an N&iacute; Chuille&aacute;nain <em>The Sun-fish</em> (Gallery)<br />Fred D&#39;Aguiar <em>Continental Shelf</em> (Carcanet)<br />Jane Draycott <em>Over </em>(Carcanet)<br />Philip Gross <em>The Water Table</em> (Bloodaxe)<br />Sin&eacute;ad Morrissey T<em>hrough the Square Window</em> (Carcanet)<br />Sharon Olds <em>One Secret Thing</em> (Cape)<br />Alice Oswald <em>Weeds &amp; Wild Flowers </em>(Faber)<br />Christopher Reid <em>A Scattering</em> (Aret&eacute;)<br />George Szirtes <em>The Burning of the Books and Other Poems </em>(Bloodaxe)<br />Hugo Williams <em>West End Final</em> (Faber)<br /><br /><br /> </p>