Galbraith, le Carré and McDermid on CrimeFest shortlist

Galbraith, le Carré and McDermid on CrimeFest shortlist

John le Carré, Robert Galbraith and Val McDermid are among the authors shortlisted for this year’s CrimeFest Awards.

Awards are given in three categories – the Audible Sounds of Crime Award for best crime audiobook, the eDunnit Award for best crime fiction e-book published in both physical and digital format, and the Goldsboro Last Laugh Award for best humourous crime novel.

John le Carré’s reading of his book A Delicate Truth (Penguin) is one of six contenders for the best audiobook award.

He will go up against authors including Robert Galbraith, the pseudonym for J K Rowling, whose audiobook of The Cuckoo’s Calling (Hachette Audio) was read by Robert Glenister, and Ben Aaronovitch’s Broken Homes (Orion Audio), read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith.

The winning author and audiobook reader will share the £1,000 prize equally.

The eDunnit Award sees Val McDermid’s Cross and Burn (Sphere) go up against books including A. K. Benedict’s The Beauty of Murder (Orion). The winning author receives £500.

The £500 Goldsboro Last Laugh Award includes on its shortlist two books from Little, Brown - Shamini Flint’s A Calamitous Chinese Killing and Carl Hiassen’s Bad Monkey – among the eight shortlisted books. All winners will also receive a Bristol Blue Glass commemorative award.

CrimeFest co-director Adrian Muller said: “It is fantastic to see such a brilliant and diverse range of authors and publishers on this year’s shortlist. Amongst the names are past winners and nominees, but new novelists are also well represented.”

The winners will be announced on 17th May at a gala dinner at CrimeFest, a three-day convention in Bristol.
The full shortlists are:
Audible Sounds of Crime Award

Ben Aaronovitch for Broken Homes, read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith (Orion Audio)
John le Carré for A Delicate Truth read by John le Carre (Penguin)
Robert Galbraith for The Cuckoo’s Calling read by Robert Glenister (Hachette Audio)
Peter James for Dead Man’s Time read by Daniel Weyman (Macmillan Audio)
Peter May for The Chessmen read by Peter Forbes (Quercus)
James Oswald for Natural Causes read by Ian Hanmore (Penguin)
eDunnit Award

A.K. Benedict for The Beauty of Murder (Orion)
Thomas H. Cook for Sandrine (Head of Zeus)
Sara Gran for Claire DeWitt and the Bohemian Highway (Faber and Faber)
Elizabeth Haynes for Under a Silent Moon (Sphere)
Val McDermid for Cross and Burn (Sphere)
Derek B Miller for Norwegian by Night (Faber and Faber)
Denise Mina for The Red Road (Orion)
Thomas Mogford for Sign of the Cross (Bloomsbury)
George Pelecanos for The Double (Orion)
Anne Zouroudi for The Feast of Artemis (Bloomsbury)
Goldsboro Last Laugh Award

Colin Bateman for Fire and Brimstone (Headline)
Alan Bradley for Speaking from Among the Bones (Orion)
Colin Cotterill for The Axe Factor (Quercus)
Shamini Flint for A Calamitous Chinese Killing (Little, Brown)
Carl Hiaasen for Bad Monkey (Little, Brown)
Suzette A. Hill for A Little Murder (Allison & Busby)
Derek B. Miller for Norwegian by Night (Faber and Faber)
Teresa Solana for The Sound of One Hand Killing (Bitter Lemon Press)