Galbraith and McEwan longlisted for Impac prize

Galbraith and McEwan longlisted for Impac prize

Ian McEwan, David Mitchell and Robert Galbraith (J K Rowling's pseudonym) are among the 25 British authors competing for this year's €100,000 (£71,300) International Impac Dublin Literary Award.

Libraries in 118 cities around the world nominated 160 books for the prize, including The Silkworm by Galbraith (Sphere), The Children’s Act by McEwan (Vintage), The Bone Clocks by Mitchell (Sceptre), Us by David Nicholls (Hodder) and How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran (Ebury).

This year’s Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction winner, How To Be Both by Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton) and this year's Man Booker Prize-winner, A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James (Oneworld) are also longlisted.

Other British nominees for the prize are Jessie Burton for The Minaturist (Picador), Kirsty Wark for The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle (Two Roads), Helen Oyeyemi for Boy, Snow, Bird (Picador) and Laline Paull for The Bees (4th Estate).

Irish writer, Colm Toibin, who won the prize in 2005 for his novel The Master (Picador), is nominated again for Nora Webster (Penguin).

This year the longlist includes 53 novels in translation with works by 44 American, 25 British, 10 Canadian, 10 Australian, seven Irish, six German and three South African authors.

Jim Crace’s novel, Harvest (Picador) won the prize last year, while Irish author Kevin Barry won for his debut City of Bohane (Vintage) in 2013.

Dublin city librarian, Margaret Hayes, said: “Reading groups worldwide each year anticipate the longlist and later the shortlist with excitement and interest. From previous experience we know that the 21st winning title will be top of the library readers list for 2016 at home and abroad, bringing readers together in an unparalleled international book club.”

The €100,000 (£71,300) prize winner will be announced on 9th June 2016.

The full longlist can be viewed here.