Fury and Wenger make Telegraph Sports Book Awards shortlists

Fury and Wenger make Telegraph Sports Book Awards shortlists

The shortlists for this year's The Telegraph Sports Book Awards have been announced, featuring Tyson Fury, Arsène Wenger and Jamie Redknapp among the nominations.

New and established writers and sportspeople have been chosen across 11 categories, including the inaugural Clays Best Sports Writing Award, and the Football Book of the Year as judged by the Football Writers' Association. Another new award, Sports Entertainment Book of the Year, is also included

To tie in with the announcement, the public are now, for the first time, being asked to cast their votes online. The Autobiography of the Year, International Autobiography or the Year, Sports Entertainment of the Year, and Sports Health & Fitness Book of the Year will all be decided by a public vote

The Clays Sports Writing Award will be adjudicated by a specifically assembled panel, with Clare Balding appointed as the chair for 2021. The award replaces the Biography and General Outstanding categories.

Sports Book Awards founder and chairman David Willis said: ‘There has been an explosion of titles in the sports department of bookshops and this reflects the enormous and growing interest in the worlds of sport and games, fitness and leisure and mindfulness and meditation.”

Winners will all be announced on 20th September at a gala ceremony at London's The Kia Oval. Tickets will be available to purchase online from 3rd August.

The shortlists in full:

The Clays Best Sports Writing Award

Frankel - Simon Cooper (HarperCollins)

The Biggest Bluff - Maria Konnikova (HarperCollins)

The Moth and the Mountain - Ed Caesar (Viking)

The Russian Affair - David Walsh (Simon & Schuster)

The Breath of Sadness - Ian Ridley (Floodlit Dreams)

The Farther Corner - Harry Pearson (Simon & Schuster)


Autobiography of the Year

Me, Family and the Making of a Footballer - Jamie Redknapp (Headline)

Fast Forward - Andrew Cole (Hodder & Stoughton)

Out of the Darkness - Matt Piper (Pitch Publishing)

Robbo: Now You're Gonna Believe Us - Andy Robertson (Reach Sport)

Born Fighter - Ruqsana Begum (Simon & Schuster)

Mud, Maul, Mascara - Catherine Spencer (Unbound)


Children’s Book of the Year, in association with National Literacy Trust

My Greatest Football Team Ever - Tom Fordyce and Kieran Carroll (Hachette Children's Group)

Chasing a Rugby Dream - James Hook and David Brayley (Polaris)

Johnny Ball: Accidental Football Genius - Matt Oldfield and Tim Wesson (Walker Books)

Karate Kids - Holly Sterling (Walker Books)

Football Superstars: Rashford Rules - Simon Mugford and Dan Green (Welbeck)

Macbeth United - Michael Rosen and Tony Ross (Scholastic)

OWN GOAL! (Football Mad #1) - Paul Stewart and Michael Broad (Barrington Stoke)

Roy of the Rovers: Rocky - Tom Palmer and Dan Cornwell (Rebellion Publishing)


The Heartaches Cricket Book of the Year

The Commonwealth of Cricket - Ramachandra Guha (HarperCollins)

Comeback Summer - Geoff Lemon (Hardie Grant)

One Long and Beautiful Summer - Duncan Hamilton (riverrun)

Barbed Wire and Cucumber Sandwiches - Dr Colin Shindler (Pitch Publishing)

That Will be England Gone - Michael Henderson (Constable)

The Unforgiven, The Missionaries or Mercenaries? - Ashley Gray (Pitch Publishing)

Bob Willis: A Cricketer and a Gentleman - Bob Willis, Mike Dickson (Hodder & Stoughton)


VAARU Cycling Book of the Year

Colombia Es Pasión - Matt Rendell (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Dead Man to Iron Man - Paul Smith (Pitch Publishing)

Signs of Life: To the Ends of the Earth with a Doctor - Stephen Fabes (Pursuit)

Mountains According to G - Geraint Thomas (Quercus)

Tour de France Champions: An A-Z - Giles Belbin (The History Press)


CLOC Football Book of the Year, in association with the Football Writers’ Association

Sacré Bleu: Zidane to Mbappé – A Football Journey - Matthew Spiro (Biteback Publishing)

Champagne Football - Mark Tighe and Paul Rowan (Sandycove, Penguin)

The Quality of Madness - Tim Rich (Quercus)

Soccer Diplomacy - Heather L Dichter (UKP)

How to Run a Football Club - Jim Keoghan (Pitch Publishing)

St. Pauli: Another Football is Possible - Natxo Parra and Carles Vina (Pluto Press)


Illustrated Book of the Year

British Football’s Greatest Grounds - Mike Bayly (Pitch Publishing)

Skate Like A Girl - Carolina Amell (Prestel)

This is Cricket - Daniel Melamud (Rizzoli)

We Are Home - Mike Dunn and AFC Wimbledon (Vision Sports Publishing)

175 Years of Surrey CCC - Surrey CCC (Vision Sports Publishing)


Pinsent Masons International Autobiography of the Year

Luka Modrić: My Autobiography - Luka Modrić (Bloomsbury Publishing)

True Colours - Barry Geraghty (Headline)

Both Sides - Nicklas Bendtner; Rune Skyum-Nielsen (Octopus)

Basta - My Life, My Truth - Marco van Basten (Octopus)

My Life in Red and White - Arsène Wenger (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

No Hiding - Rob Kearney (Reach Sport)


Arbuthnot Latham Rugby Book of the Year, in association with The Rugby Writers’ Club

Loose Head - Joe Marler (Ebury)

What A Flanker - James Haskell (HarperCollins)

Our Blood Is Green - Gavin Rich (Polaris)

Exe Men - Robert Kitson (Polaris)

The Hurt - Dylan Hartley (Viking)

No Hiding - Rob Kearney (Reach Sport)


Sports Entertainment Book of the Year

Never Stop Dreaming - Stuart Pearce, Oliver Holt (Hodder & Stoughton)

You're Better Than That - Chris Sutton (Monoray)

Only Here For A Visit - Alan Brazil (Bantam Press)

Lights Out, Full Throttle - Damon Hill and Johnny Herbert (Pan Macmillan)

26.2 Miles to Happiness - Paul Tonkinson (Bloomsbury Publishing)

I've Got Mail - Jeff Stelling (Headline)


Sports Health & Fitness Book of the Year

Relentless: 12 Rounds to Success - Eddie Hearn (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Whitlock Workout - Max Whitlock (Headline)

Goals: Inspirational Stories to Help Tackle Life's Challenges - Gianluca Vialli and Gabriele Marcotti (Headline)

30 Day Kick Start Plan - Joe Wicks (Bluebird, Pan Macmillan)

The Furious Method - Tyson Fury (Century, Cornerstone)

Eating for Results - Chloe Madeley (Bantam Press, Transworld Books)