Four new categories announced in RNA Industry Awards

Four new categories announced in RNA Industry Awards

The shortlist for this year's Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA) Industry Awards has been announced, with four new categories.

New prizes this year are for best narrator, named cover designer, indie editor, and indie champion of the year. Along with the best bookseller, media star, agent, publisher or editor, library or librarian, and the inclusion award for championing inclusivity in romantic authorship and publishing, they spotlight the many professionals who promote and support romantic fiction.

The awards are decided by RNA's membership, with every member eligible to nominate within each category.

Laura James, the RNA Industry Awards organiser, said: "'Romantic fiction comes in many forms, which our industry professionals represent and present with skill, style and passion. It is a privilege to honour their creative talent, support and hard work. This year, in addition to our existing awards, I am delighted we are recognising a further four areas of expertise. The categories reflect the diversity of our authors, our readership and our industry, and recognise the amazing quality and accessibility of romantic fiction today, whether traditionally or independently published."

The winners of the 10 awards will be announced during the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Winter Party & Industry Awards ceremony, which is being held at the Leonardo Royal Hotel London City, 8-14 Cooper’s Row, London EC3N 2BQ, on 28th October 2021 at 6.30 p.m.

The full shortlists below:

The Romantic Bookseller of the Year

Bert's Books


Harbour Bookshop

Inclusion Award

Melissa Cox

Dorothy Koomson

Liam Livings

Rasheda Ashanti Malcolm

Keshini Naidoo

Media Star of the Year

Anita Faulkner

Rachel Gilbey

Kim Nash

Agent of the Year

Lorella Belli

Juliet Pickering

Caroline Sheldon

Felicity Trew

Publisher and / or Editor of the Year

Avon Books

Boldwood Books



Library or Librarian of the Year

Liz Gardner, Staffordshire Libraries

Karen Huxtable, Exeter Library

Michelle Watson, Northumberland Libraries

Gwaun cae Gurwen Library, Y Lolfa

Narrator of the Year

Annie Aldington

Eilidh Beaton

Anne Dover

Naomi Rose-Mock

Named Cover Designer of the Year

J D Smith

Dar Albert

Lisa Firth

Andrew Brown

Indie Editor of the Year

Debi Alper

Joan Deitch

Laura Gerrard

Indie Champion of the Year

Alliance of Independent Authors

Clare Flynn

Lizzie Lamb

Joanna Penn, The Creative Penn