Forward poetry collection chosen for set text

Forward poetry collection chosen for set text

The Forward Prizes for Poetry and Faber are publishing a new edition of Poems of the Decade, which will be an English Literature set text at A Level and A/S Level for students enrolled with the Edexcel examination board.

Poems of the Decade: an Anthology of the Forward Books of Poetry will feature more than 100 poems from poets such as Seamus Heaney, Carol Ann Duffy and Simon Armitage, 20 of which students will be expected to learn. It is edited by William Sieghart, who has selected the poems from the 10 Forward Books of Poetry published to accompany the prizes between 2001 and 2010. It will be published in paperback on 19th March at £8.99.

Meanwhile, writer A L Kennedy will chair the jury of the 2015 Forward Prizes for Poetry.

She said: “I'm delighted to be chairing the Forward jury this year. The Forward Prizes for Poetry have an admirable record of integrity and a proper interest in quality writing.”

Kennedy will be joined on the judging panel by BBC producer Emma Harding and poets Colette Bryce, Carrie Etter and Warsan Shire, the first Young Poet Laureate for London. The poems they commend will feature in the 24th annual Forward Book of Poetry, published on the eve of the prizes in September 2015.

Awards are made in three categories – Best Collection (£10,000), Best First Collection (£5,000) and Best Single Poem (£1,000) – for poetry published between October 2014 and September 2015. The prizes are sponsored by content marketing agency Forward Worldwide.

Susannah Herbert, executive director of the Forward Arts Foundation, the charity that runs the prizes and co-ordinates National Poetry Day, said: “The members of this year’s jury feel strongly that good contemporary poetry deserves a wide audience. Their shared love of well-turned language and willingness to take risks suggest that they will come up with intriguing shortlists and a Forward Book that is required reading for anyone interested in the state of contemporary poetry.”

The Forward Prizes for Poetry will be awarded at the Royal Festival Hall on 28th September 2015.