Fortnum & Mason award winners revealed

Fortnum & Mason award winners revealed

Little, Brown, Mitchell Beazley and Saltyard Books were winners at this year’s Fortnum & Mason Food & Drink Awards.

Little, Brown won Food Book of the Year with The Third Plate: Field Notes On The Future Of Food by Dan Barber, who wrote the book after a decade spent investigating farming communities around the world, while Mitchell Beazley won Drink Book of the Year with Distilled by Joel Harrison and Neil Ridley, an exploration of the world of spirits. The award for Cookery Book of the Year went to Honey & Co: Food From The Middle East by Sarit Packer and Itamar Srulovich (Saltyard Books), who run the Honey & Co café serving food from across the Middle East in Warren Street, London. 

The third annual awards, which aim to celebrate the very best in writing, broadcasting, and publishing on food and drink, were held in the Fortnum & Mason store in Piccadilly, London and were hosted by Claudia Winkleman. Each of the winners was presented with a bespoke Fortnum’s award, a bottle of Fortnum’s champagne and a Fortnum & Mason hamper. 

The judging panel for the 2015 Awards was chaired by Fortnum’s c.e.o., Ewan Venters, and included a mix of food and drink journalists, TV stars and restaurateurs including Bee Wilson, Lucas Hollweg and Monica Galetti.

Commenting on the awards, Venters said: “For over 300 years Fortnum & Mason has been at the heart of the finest food and drink and our Awards were established to honour the literary and performing accomplishments of some of the best media in the world. Entries from all over the UK are increasing every year. Over 130 books were entered into the new Cookery Book category alone serving up a diverse collection of recipes from as far a field as Mexico, India and the Middle East.  We’re very proud of the winners and, indeed, everyone who took part in this year’s competition.” 

Some of the other awards given out on the night included Food Writer of the Year, Drink Writer of the Year and TV Personality of the Year. The full list of winners can be found on the Fortnum & Mason website.