Forsyth honoured at CWA awards

Forsyth honoured at CWA awards

Frederick Forsyth has been awarded the Crime Writers Association's Diamond Dagger award at the CWA's annual awards ceremony, which also saw the longlists for the Gold Dagger and Ian Fleming Steel Dagger revealed.

Forsyth was selected by his peers for the award, which recognises a significant and sustained contribution to crime fiction, with Peter James, chair of the CWA, declaring: “Frederick Forsyth is a hugely deserving recipient and The Day of the Jackal remains of the greatest thrillers of our times.”

Other winners included Aly Monroe, who scooped the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger for Icelight (John Murray), while Andrea Camilleri, who has previously been shortlisted three times for his Inspector Montalbano novels, published by Picador, finally won the CWA International Dagger.

The Dagger for Non-fiction was awarded to the husband and wife team Anthony Summers and Robbyn Swan for The Eleventh Day (Doubleday), about the September 11th terrorist attacks.

Steve Mosby, published by Orion, picked up the CWA Dagger in the Library award, while Sandy Gingras won the 2012 Debut Dagger for her story "Beached", and Cath Staincliffe and Margaret Murphy shared the short story gong for tales included in Best Eaten Cold (The Mystery Press).

Peter James said at the ceremony, held on July 5th: “There has been a truly stellar line up of nominees and the judges in all categories had a very tough time selecting the winners.”

Novelists and publishers also discovered who had been longlisted for three other awards. Twenty-one novelists in total are in contention for the Gold Dagger for best crime novel, the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for best thriller, and the John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger. 

Wiley Cash’s A Land More Kind than Home (Transworld/Bantam) is in the running for two awards, as is Alice LaPlante’s Turn of Mind (Harvill Secker). Simon Lelic’s The Child Who (Mantle) will also battle it out on two fronts. Publishers Quercus, Simon & Schuster, Headline, HarperCollins and relative newcomer Mantle, the Pan Macmillan imprint, are all celebrating multiple nominations.

The longlists in full:

CWA Gold Dagger 

A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash (Transworld/Bantam)

Vengeance in Mind by N.J. Cooper (Simon & Schuster)

Grandad, There’s a Head on the Beach by Colin Cotterill (Quercus)

The Flight by M.R. Hall (Mantle)

The Rage by Gene Kerrigan (Vintage)

Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante (Harvill Secker)

The Child Who by Simon Lelic (Mantle)

Bereft by Chris Womersley (Quercus)


CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger

Dare Me by Megan Abbott (Picador)

The Shadow Patrol by Alex Berenson (Headline)

A Foreign Country by Charles Cumming (HarperCollins)

The Fear Index by Robert Harris (Hutchinson)

The Dispatcher by Ryan David Jahn (Macmillan)

Uncommon Enemy by Alan Judd (Simon & Schuster)

The Child Who by Simon Lelic (Mantle)

Remade by Neal Stephenson (Atlantic Books)


CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger

The Doll Princess by Tom Benn (Jonathan Cape)

Heart-Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne (Headline)

A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash (Transworld/Bantam)

So Much Pretty by Cara Hoffman (Century)

Good People by Ewart Hutton (HarperCollins)

Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante (Harvill Secker)

The Expats by Chris Pavone (Faber & Faber)

What Dies in Summer by Tom Wright (Canongate)