Filer and McBride on Desmond Elliott longlist

Filer and McBride on Desmond Elliott longlist

Nathan Filer (pictured), the winner of the Costa Book of the Year Award, has been longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize for debut novelists with his book, The Shock of the Fall (HarperCollins).

Also on the longlist is Eimear McBride with her book, A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing (Galley Beggar Press), which won the Goldsmiths Prize, and was shortlisted for the Folio Prize.

The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan (Doubleday Ireland), winner of the Guardian First Book Award, is also on the list.

The £10,000 award has been given since 2008, in memory of publisher Elliott who died in 2003. It is administered by the Desmond Elliott Charitable Trust, with the judging panel this year made up of novelist Chris Cleave, bookshop owner Patrick Neale, and Financial Times Life & Arts associate editor, Isabel Berwick.

The other books on the longlist are The Letter Bearer by Robert Allison (Granta); Idiopathy by Sam Byers (Fourth Estate); Meeting the English by Kate Clanchy (Picador); Sedition by Katharine Grant (Virago); The Dynamite Room by Jason Hewitt (Simon & Schuster); Marriage Material by Sathnam Sanghera (William Heinemann); and Ballistics by D. W. Wilson (Bloomsbury).

The shortlist will be announced on 26th May, with the prize awarded on 3rd July.

Last year's winner was Ros Barber with The Marlow Papers (Sceptre).