Faber to launch Modern Classics imprint

Faber to launch Modern Classics imprint

Faber is launching a new imprint of modern classics, including titles from T S Eliot, Kazuo Ishiguro and Hanif Kureishi.

The list will begin with 10 titles in April 2015, with a further six books following in June. Associate fiction publisher Hannah Griffiths will lead the in-house publishing team for the list, which will cover Faber's entire publishing history, including novels, non-fiction, poetry and drama.

The paperback Faber Modern Classics list will have its own livery, designed by Faber art director Donna Payne, using Faber's own font and colours from its design palette. To celebrate the launch of the list, 100 postcards featuring jackets from the Faber archive will be released.

Griffiths said all selected books would have to be published at least 25 years ago before being considered for inclusion. She said: "We wanted to create an enduring picture of this great contribution to literature -- and to curate a catalogue for the next generation of readers out of the vast backlist. It’s been a hugely pleasurable task, like visiting a second hand bookshop and following your nose, seeing covers you like or a name you’ve always meant to read. The criteria we’ve applied to the title selection are simple: the books have to have been originally published by Faber, at least 25 years ago. This was to give us a real sense that these are books that can justify the term ‘modern classic’."

C.e.o. Stephen Page added: "Throughout its 85 year history Faber & Faber's reputation has been as a publisher of important literary work. This Modern Classics list is a new showcase for these often brave choices, to draw attention to them again for a new generation of readers. This is not a list of our bestsellers but of books we sincerely believe have classic status, a status relating to all the forms of literature embracing poetry, drama, fiction and non-fiction."

Some of the titles will feature newly commissioned material, such as readers' notes and introductions, as well as facsimile material from the Faber archives. Contemporary writers have also helped with the selection process for titles.

The launch list of made up of:

Nightwood by Djuna Barnes with introductions from Jeannette Winterson and T S Eliot

Ariel by Sylvia Plath (chosen by Edna O’Brien)

Pincher Martin by William Golding with an afterword by Phillipa Gregory

The Buddha of Suburbia by Hanif Kureishi with an introduction by Zadie Smith

Self-Help by Lorrie Moore

Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson (selected by Barbara Kingsolver)

Venice by Jan Morris

Selected Poems by T S Eliot featuring an essay by Seamus Heaney

Look Back in Anger by John Osborne with an introduction from Michael Billington and an afterword by David Hare

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro