Enright wins Irish novel of the year award

Enright wins Irish novel of the year award

Anne Enright has won the Irish novel of the year award at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2015, during a ceremony which also saw prizes given to J P Donleavy, Louise O’Neill, Eoin Colfer and Niall Breslin.

Enright won the Eason book club novel of the year award for The Green Road (Jonathan Cape), whilst Donleavy was given the Bob Hughes lifetime achievement award. He was presented with the award by actor Johnny Depp, who is producing a film version of Donleavy's 1955 novel The Ginger Man, via videolink.

Awards for children’s writing were presented to Louise O’Neill, who won the Specsavers children’s book of the year (senior) for Asking For It (Quercus), and Eoin Colfer and Oliver Jeffers, who was given the prize for Specsavers children’s book of the year (junior) for Imaginary Fred (Harper Collins Children’s Books).

Niall Breslin, a musician and former rugby player, won the non-fiction award for Me and My Mate Jeffrey (Hachette Books Ireland), which is about his struggle with depression.

The awards, which were voted for by the Irish public, were presented at Dublin’s Double Tree Hilton hotel at a ceremony hosted by Keelin Shanley, accompanied by guest presenters Rick O’ Shea and Sean Rocks.

Brendan Corbett, chair of the awards, said Irish literature is the “gift that keeps on giving”. He added: “With these awards, one thing never changes and that is the seemingly limitless creativity of Irish writers.  We know that every year we will be guaranteed fantastic books to choose from and that there will be great work from experienced writers and always fresh talent bursting through to challenge them as the list of winners shows.”

An international prize went to Bill Bryson, who won the Bord Gáis Energy International Recognition Award, which is for international authors who have contributed substantially to the health and wealth of the Irish book-trade.

From today (26th November), the public can vote for their overall ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ online. Voting is open until midnight 17th December and anyone who votes is in with the chance of winning €100 in National Book Tokens


The full list of winners in the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2015’ is:

Eason Book Club Novel of the Year - The Green Road by Anne Enright (Jonathan Cape)

TheJournal.ie Best Irish Published Book of the Year - The Long Gaze Back: An Anthology of Irish Women Writers edited by Sinéad Gleeson (New Island Books)

Specsaver’s Children’s Book of the Year (Junior) - Imaginary Fred by Eoin Colfer and Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior) - Asking For It by Louise O’ Neill (Quercus Books)

Avonmore Cookbook of the Year - The Virtuous Tart by Susan Jane White (Gill & Macmillan)

Ireland AM Crime Book of the Year - After the Fire by Jane Casey (Ebury Press)

Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year - The Way We Were by Sinead Moriarty (Penguin Ireland)

National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year - Children of the Rising by Joe Duffy (Hachette Books Ireland)

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year - Until Victory Always: A Memoir by Jim Mc Guinness (Gill & Macmillan)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year - Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume (Tramp Press)

Books Are My Bag Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year - Me and My Mate Jeffrey by Niall Breslin (Hachette Books Ireland)

RTÉ Radio 1's The Ryan Tubridy Show Listeners' Choice Award - Irelandopedia by Fatti and John Burke (Gill & Macmillan)

Writing.ie Short Story of the Year - A Slanting of the Sun by Donal Ryan (A Slanting of the Sun) (Doubleday)