Emma Suffield wins School Librarian of the Year Award

Emma Suffield wins School Librarian of the Year Award

A librarian from Saint Wilfrid’s C of E Academy in Blackburn, Lancashire, has been given this year’s School Librarian of the Year Award by the School Library Association.

Emma Suffield, whose official title is learning resources centre manager, was chosen as this year’s winner after increasing book borrowing rates in the school by 450% since she became responsible for the library in 2014. She has organised multiple book clubs, book award shadowing schemes and creative writing groups, and revamped the library’s non-fiction section to focus on supporting pupils' revision.

Lesley Martin, chair of the SLA School Librarian of the Year selection committee, said: ‘‘It is exciting for the profession to have someone as forward thinking, creative, passionate and professional about school libraries and no doubt with a great career ahead of her. Emma makes a real difference in her school and her community and her contribution to the wider library profession is already making an impact.’’

Suffield received the award last night (9th October) from author Lauren St. John at a ceremony in London.

Three other librarians were given honours: Nicki Cleveland from Cannon Park Primary School in Coventry, Dr. Chhavi Jain from Manav Rachna International School in Gurugram, India, and Alison Kennedy from St George’s Ascot.