Donoghue, Shriver and Miéville on Impac longlist

Emma Donoghue, Lionel Shriver and China Miéville are among the authors longlisted for the 2012 International Impac Dublin Literary Award, which saw 147 titles nominated by libraries around the world.

With 20 nominations, Donoghue’s Room (Picador) was the most popular title longlisted for the €100,000 annual award, the world’s most valuable literary prize for a single work of fiction.

Also nominated was another Galaxy National Book Award winner, Jennifer Egan, for her novel A Visit from the Goon Squad (Corsair) and last year’s Man Booker winner Howard Jacobson’s The Finkler Question (Bloomsbury)

The list also comprises 34 translated works from authors including Isabel Allende, David Grossman, Daniel Kehlmann, Per Petterson and Bernhard Schlink. The full longlist can be viewed here.

Dublinls lord mayor Andrew Montague urged people to borrow the novels from their public library: “You will find books and authors, particularly those novels in translation that you might otherwise never come across and you can pick your own favourites, before I announce the winner on 13th June next year."

The shortlist will be announced on 12th April 2012 and Montague will reveal the winner on 13th June.