Donal Ryan among EU Prize winners

Donal Ryan among EU Prize winners

Irish author Donal Ryan, whose debut The Spinning Heart (Doubleday Ireland) won the 2013 Guardian First Book Award, is among the winners of the 2015 European Union Prize for Literature.

The 12 winning authors from across Europe were announced today (14th April) at the Opening Ceremony of the London Book Fair by European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, Tibor Navracsics. The award recognises the best new and emerging authors in Europe.

Joining Ryan are: Austrian author Carolina Schutti; Croatia’s Luka Bekavac; Gaëlle Josse from France; Hungary’s Edina Szvoren; Italian author Lorenzo Amurri; Undinė Radzevičiūtėof Lithuania; Norway’s Ida Hegazi Høyer; Polish author Magdalena Parys; Portuguese author David Machado; Svetlana Žuchová of Slovakia and Sweden’s Sara Stridsberg.

Navracsics said: “My warmest congratulations to the winners of the European Union Prize for Literature! This is the only book award dedicated to the best up-and-coming authors from all over Europe, regardless of their country of origin or language. With this prize and our continued support for translations of literary works, we are helping literature cross borders and enabling readers to enjoy the wealth of writing talent we have. This is crucial: Literature opens the mind, allowing us to come closer together and understand each other better, which is now more vital than ever.”

Jacks Thomas, director of The London Book Fair said: “I would like to add my congratulations to the winners on their remarkable achievement. We are very proud to have hosted today’s announcement and that such a prestigious prize is embedded with the London Book Fair. I look forward to our continuing partnership and cooperation with the European Union Prize for Literature.”

The European Union Prize for Literature is open to the countries participating in Creative Europe, the EU funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors. Every year, national juries in one third of the countries participating in the programme nominate the winning authors.

Each winner receives € 5,000. Publishers are encouraged to apply for EU funding to have the winning books translated into other languages to reach new readers.

The EUPL is organised by the European and International Booksellers Federation, the European Writers' Council and the Federation of European Publishers, with the support of the European Commission.

This year's prize winners will be presented with their awards during a gala ceremony at the Concert Noble in Brussels on 23rd June, in the presence of Navracsics, Silvia Costa, MEP and chair of the Culture and Education Committee, and representatives of the Latvian Presidency of the EU.