Desmond Elliott longlist drawn

<p>The longlist for the 2009 Desmond Elliott Prize has been announced, with five male and five female authors up for the &pound;10,000 award.<br /><br />Nominated titles include Orange long-listed <em>Girl in a Blue Dress </em>by Gaynor Arnold and <em>Blackmoor</em> by Edward Hogan, which was shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas prize last year.<br /><br />The Desmond Elliott Prize is awarded to a first novel, of any genre, published in the UK and was established in honour of the late publisher and literary agent Desmond Elliott to &ldquo;to enrich the careers of new writers&quot;.</p><p>This year&rsquo;s judging panel comprises author and journalist Candida Lycett Green, former literary editor of the <em>Independent on Sunday</em>, Suzi Feay, and Rodney Troubridge of Waterstone&rsquo;s.<br /><br />The shortlist of three will be revealed on 26th May, and the winner revealed on 24th June at Fortnum and Mason.<br /><br />The longlist: <br /><br /><em>A Girl Made of Dust</em> by Nathalie Abi-Ezzi (Fourth Estate)<br /><em>The Behaviour of Moths</em> by Poppy Adams (Virago)<br /><em>Girl in a Blue Dress</em> by Gaynor Arnold (Tindal Street Press)<br /><em>Mr Toppit</em> by Charles Elton (Viking)<br /><em>Never Never</em> by David Gaffney (Tindal Street Press)<br /><em>Blackmoor</em> by Edward Hogan (Simon &amp; Schuster)<br /><em>The Redemption of Alexander Seaton</em> by Shona MacLean (Quercus)<br /><em>The Rescue Man</em> by Anthony Quinn (Jonathan Cape)<br /><em>Little Gods</em> by Anna Richards (Picador)<br /><em>The Alternative Hero</em> by Tim Thornton (Jonathan Cape)</p>