Deezer launches music pairings for International Booker Prize shortlist

Deezer launches music pairings for International Booker Prize shortlist

Music streaming service Deezer has partnered with the International Booker Prize to produce a soundtrack for each shortlisted book

The "Sounds Of" series will pair specific songs with each of the six books: The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree (Europa) by Shokoofeh Azar, The Adventures of China Iron (Charco) by Gabriela Cabezón Cámara, translated by Iona Macintye and Fiona Mackintosh; Tyll (Quercus) by Daniel Kehlmann, translated by Ross Benjamin; Hurricane Season (Fitzcarraldo) by Fernanda Melchor, translated by Sophie Hughes; The Memory Police (Harvill Secker) by Yoko Ogawa, translated by Stephen Snyder; and The Discomfort of Evening (Faber & Faber) by Marieke Lucas Rijneveld, translated by Michele Hutchison. 

Adam Read, UK and Ireland music editor for Deezer, said: “Every playlist changes tone, beat and mood to complement the different narratives, from the magic in The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree to the satire of Tyll. Pairing the disturbing and tragic themes of The Discomfort of Evening with dark and mysterious sounds sent shivers down my spine. I had so many of those surreal moments creating these playlists. For the readers, I’m sure it will keep intensifying as they get further engrossed in the book."

In addition to the shortlist, Deezer has produced playlists for top summer reads, including Johny Pitts' Afropean (Penguin Books), Trick Mirror  (PRH) by Jia Tolentino and Low (Faber) by Jeet Thayil. 

Ted Hodgkinson, chair of the 2020 prize judges, said: “Over the past year of reading I’ve been tuned into some brilliant translated fiction. Now I’m excited to hear some sounds selected by the experts at Deezer, who have curated playlists tailored to this year’s shortlist. I hope this will inspire more readers to immerse themselves in the sights and sounds of our International Booker Prize shortlist."

The winner of the prize will be announced in a digital ceremony on 26th August.