Debut buys at Fig Tree

<p>Fig Tree publisher Juliet Annan has bought world rights to a debut from a young British author said to appeal to fans of Michel Faber and Sarah Waters. </p><p>Annan bought Katy Derby&#39;s <em>Whore&#39;s Asylum</em> from Arabella Stein at Abner Stein. The novel, described as &quot;full of gothic drama, romance and intrigue&quot;, is set in Oxford in the 1880s and tells of two men whose friendship is tested when one, a doctor, takes up work in a venereal disease clinic offering asylum to the city&#39;s prostitutes. <em>Whore&#39;s Asylum</em> will be published in February 2012. </p><p>Annan has also bought UK and Commonwealth rights, and translation rights, to a &quot;clear-eyed, mordantly witty&quot; literary debut by young British writer Helen Gordon. <em>Landfall</em> was acquired from<br />Andrew Kidd at Aitken Alexander. The novel tells the story of Alice, whose life unravels when she leaves her sophisticated London life for the suburbs where she grew up. The author formerly worked at <em>Granta </em>magazine. </p><p><em>Landfall</em> will be published in 2012.<br /><br />&nbsp;</p>