Debut authors tussle for Carnegie

Debut authors tussle for Carnegie

Four debut authors are in contention for this year's CILIP Carnegie Medal, announced today (27th March) alongside the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal shortlist. 

Meanwhile Walker Books has a strong presence across both lists, with seven of its novels and picture books shortlisted, including A Monster Calls by former winner Patrick Ness which is shortlisted in both categories.

The four debut authors are Lissa Evans (Small Change for Stuart, Doubleday, 8+), Ali Lewis (Everybody Jam, Andersen Press, 12+), Annabel Pitcher (My Sister Lives on the Mantlepiece, Orion, 10+) and Ruta Sepetys (Between Shades of Gray, Puffin, 12+). They join established names David Almond (My Name is Mina, Hodder, 9+), Sonya Hartnett (The Midnight Zoo, Walker, 9+), Andy Mulligan (Trash, David Fickling Books, 12+) and Patrick Ness (A Monster Calls, Walker Books, 9+).

The eight books on this year's Carnegie shortlist are aimed at a younger audience than usual, suitable for readers of 14 years or younger, with diverse settings ranging from contemporary England, outback Australia and wartime Siberia.

Meanwhile this year's CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal shortlist for illustration highlights the importance of illustration in books for older readers: Dave McKean's graphic storytelling is integral to David Almond's Slog's Dad, for example, while Jim Kay's images are a vital element of A Monster Calls (also shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal).

The full CILIP Kate Greenaway shortlist is as follows: Wolf Won’t Bite by Emily Gravett (Macmillan, 4+); Puffin Peter by Petr Horácek (Walker Books, 4+); A Monster Calls, illus. by Jim Kay (Walker Books, 9+); Slog’s Dad, illus. by Dave McKean (Walker Books, 8+); Solomon Crocodile by Catherine Rayner (Macmillan, 4+); The Gift, illus by Rob Ryan (Barefoot Books, 6+); There Are No Cats In This Book by Viviane Schwarz (Walker Books, 4+); and Can We Save the Tiger?, illus by Vicky White (Walker Books, 6+).

Over 4,000 reading groups in schools and public libraries have registered to take part in the shadowing scheme for the 2012 awards, involving 90,000 children and young people. 

The 2012 winners will be announced at a ceremony at London's Barbican Centre on Thursday 14th June.