Deadline approaches for Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers' Award

Deadline approaches for Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers' Award

The deadline for the submissions for the inaugural £10,000 Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers' Award is fast approaching (31st January). 

The Deborah Rogers Foundation was set up 18 months following the death of "beloved" literary agent Deborah Rogers, whose sudden death sent shockwaves through the literary community at the end of April 2014. It is chaired by Lord Berkeley of Knighton, Deborah’s widower, while members include such authors as Ian McEwan, Rogers' client for almost 40 years.

The £10,000 award is the foundation's first initiative. The foundation and prize were announced on the eve of the Frankfurt Book Fair as a continuation of Rogers' legacy, known for her "generous heart" and "the interest and support she gave to new writers, wherever they came from". Gill Coleridge, who succeeded Rogers as chair of Rogers, Coleridge and White in May of 2014, referred to the foundation as "the means to ensure that her legacy to the publishing world will be continued" and said the Writers’ Award will "adopt precisely the same approach to first-time writers as Deborah did in person".

The prize is for a first-time writer "whose work demonstrates literary talent but who needs financial support to complete their first book". It is open to fiction, non-fiction and short stories, but not poetry.

The inaugural Writers’ Award will be presented in Summer 2016.