Crimefest award-winners, CWA shortlists announced

Susan Hill, Belinda Bauer and Peter May are among the shortlistees for the Crime Writers Association’s Dagger in the Library award, while Jo Nesbo, Misha Glenny and debut author Jon Breakfield are all up for prizes.

Also in the running for the Dagger in the Library prize, sponsored by Random House, are Steve Mosby, Imogen Robertson and S J Bolton. The award is nominated by library users and chosen by a panel of librarians, celebrating an author’s body of work.

CWA chair Peter James said: “The Crime Writers’ Association Daggers are the most coveted of all awards in the UK crime writing calendar and this year’s shortlist entries have all been of an exceptionally high standard. I'm delighted to see that the world of quality crime writing is thriving in our new electronic age."

The winners of the awards will be annouced at the CWA Awards on 5th July, alongside the longlists for the Gold, Steel and John Creasey categories. Frederick Forsyth will be awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger.

Also awarded at the Crimefest convention in Bristol were the winners of the CrimeFest Awards 2012, where two Random House Audiobooks title triumphed.

Lee Child's The Affair, read by Kerry Shale, took home the Audible Sounds of Crime Award for Best Abridged Crime Audiobook, while S J Watson's Before I Go to Sleep, read by Sussanah Harker and produced with AudioGO won the Best Abridged Crime Audiobook.

The Goldsboro Last Laugh Award, for the best humorous crime novel, went to Declan Burke for Absolute Zero Cool (Liberties Press), while Denise Misa won the eDunnit Award for best fiction e-book for The End of the Wasp Season (Orion).

The ceremony took place on the last night of the Bristol-based crime fiction convention. Next year's CrimeFest will take place from 30th May to 2nd June.

The CWA Daggers shortlists in full:

Dagger in the Library - sponsored by Random House
Steve Mosby
Belinda Bauer
Imogen Robertson
S J Bolton
Susan Hill
Peter May

Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction - sponsored by the ALCS
To Live Outside the Law by Leaf Fielding  (Serpent’s Tail)
Dark Market by Misha Glenny (Vintage)
Hood Rat by Gavin Knight (Pan Macmillan)
The Negotiator by Ben Lopez (Little, Brown)
Witness by David Smith with Carol Ann Lee (Mainstream)
The Eleventh Day by Anthony Summers and Robbyn Swan (Doubleday)

Debut Dagger - sponsored by Orion
Beached by Sandy Gingras (USA)
Broken Winged Bird by Renata Hill (Canada)
Chasing Shadows by Lesley McLaren (France)
Death by Glasgow by Jon Breakfield (UK)
Death Knell by Rob Lowe (UK)
Easy to Die by Sean Carpenter (UK)
Message from Panama by Britt Vasarhelyi (Panama)
One Man Army by Bram E. Gieben (UK)
Port of Spain by Elizabeth Wells (Canada)
The Watchers by Karen Catalona (USA)
The Wrong Domino by Simon Miller (UK)
Trick by Sean Hancock (UK)

Ellis Peters Historical Dagger
A Willing Victim by Laura Wilson (Quercus)
Bitter Water by Gordon Ferris (Corvus)
Icelight by Aly Monroe (John Murray)
I Will Have Vengeance by Maurizio de Giovanni (Hersilia Press)
Prague Fatale by Philip Kerr (Quercus)
Sacrilege by S J Parris (HarperCollins)
The Crown by Nancy Bilyeau (Orion)

International Dagger for crime fiction in translation
The Potter’s Field by Andrea Camilleri & tr. Stephen Sartarelli (Mantle)
I Will Have Vengeance by Maurizio de Giovanni & tr. Anne Milano Appel
(Hersilia Press)
Until Thy Wrath Be Past by Åsa Larsson and tr. Laurie Thompson (MacLehose
Trackers by Deon Meyer and tr. K L Seeger (Hodder)
Phantom by Jo Nesbø and tr. Don Bartlett (Harvill Secker)
The Dark Valley by Valerio Varesi and tr. Joseph Farrell (MacLehose Press)

Short Story Dagger
The Golden Hour by Bernie Crosthwaite, from Guilty Consciences - edited by Martin Edwards (Severn House)
Hixton by William Kent Krueger, from Crimes by Moonlight - edited by Charlaine Harris (Gollancz)
The Message by Margaret Murphy from Murder Squad: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories - edited by Martin Edwards (Mystery Press)
He Did Not Always See Her by Claire Seeber from Guilty Consciences - edited by Martin Edwards (Severn House)
A Long Time Dead by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins from The Best American Mystery Stories 2011 - edited by Harlan Coben (Corvus)
Laptop by Cath Staincliffe from Murder Squad: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories - edited by Martin Edwards (Mystery Press)