Crime book club from Ross

Crime book club from Ross

ITV3 will begin a new series called "The Crime Thriller Club" in September, a TV book club based around crime novels. Each episode will focus on a different title.

The books have been chosen by Amanda Ross, m.d. of Cactus TV, who previously helmed the Richard & Judy Book Club. The titles are Trust Your Eyes by Linwood Barclay (Orion); Dare Me by Megan Abbott (Picador); Bryant and May and the Invisible Code by Christopher Fowler (Transworld); The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter by Malcolm Mackay (Pan Books); City of Devils by Diana Bretherick (Orion); The Scent of Death by  Andrew Taylor (HarperCollins).

Writers set to be interviewed on the show are Martina Cole, Nicci French, Harlan Coben, Patricia Cornwell, Wilbur Smith and Frederick Forsyth.

Ross said: "All the titles we’ve picked are great, with a wide range of styles to suit every type of crime fan, and hopefully encourage some new readers to the crime thriller genre.”

Meanwhile Lauren Beukes, Derek B Miller and Belinda Bauer are among the authors shortlisted for the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards, announced now  ahead of the ITV3 ceremony to be broadcast on 24th October.

The full book award shortlists are:

The CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year
Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer (Bantam/Transworld)
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman (Orion)
Dead Lions by Mick Herron (Soho Crime)
The CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger for Best New Crime Write of the Year
Norwegian by Night by Derek B. Miller (Faber and Faber)
Something You Are by Hanna Jameson (Head of Zeus)
The Necessary Death of Lewis Winterby Malcolm Mackay (Mantle)
Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford (Bloomsbury)
The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller of the Year
Ghostman by Roger Hobbs (Transworld)
Ratlines by Stuart Neville (Random House)
The Sentinel by Mark Oldfield (Head of Zeus)
Capital Punishment by Robert Wilson (Orion)

Awards for crime films and TV programmes will also be given out on the night. British programmes nominated include BBC One's Luther and ITV1's Broadchurch, while international shows include Top of the Lake and Homeland. Actors including Idris Elba and Damien Lewis are in the running for best actor, while films such as Sky Fall and Jack Reacher are in the running for best film.