C&R and Nosy Crow win three at IPG awards


Constable & Robinson won a hat-trick of awards at the Independent Publishers Guild Awards last night (8th March), scooping the IPG Independent Publisher of the Year, The Bookseller Trade Publisher of the Year and the Ingram Digital Publishing Award, with children’s digital specialist Nosy Crow also winning three awards.
Nosy Crow was named IPG Children’s Publisher of the Year, as well as IPG Newcomer of the Year and Nielsen Innovation of the Year, for its apps including “Cinderella” and “Bizzy Bear on the Farm”, with the judges highlighting the amount the publisher has achieved in its first two years.
The judges also praised C&R, saying: “This has always been a robust and well-run publisher, but it has never sat back on its laurels. It has pulled together every weapon in its armoury and lifted itself up to a whole new level as one of the very best publishers around.”
Meanwhile, in the sixth year of the awards, Sage was named IPG Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year, with Jolly Learning taking the crown in the Education Publisher of the Year category. The Osprey Group took IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year, with Barefoot Books winning the IPG Diversity Award for its “promotion of cultural and ecological diversity in children’s books”. The Frankfurt Book Fair Digital Marketing Award was awarded to Top That! Publishing, with London Book Fair’s International Achievement Award won by Woodhead Publishing.
The inaugural IPG Young Independent Publisher gong was awarded to Andrew Furlow, sales and marketing director at Icon Books, with the judges saying: “Andrew is imaginative and tenacious and great at what he does." They added: "He was instrumental in a game-changing book [The Etymologicon] without neglecting the rest of Icon’s publishing.”
The GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award was won by Adrian Driscoll, consultant and founder of app developer Aimer Media.
The awards were presented at the gala dinner during the IPG’s 50th annual conference last night, held at Heythrop Park in Oxfordshire.
IPG executive director Bridge Shine said: “We congratulate all the winners of this year’s IPG Independent Publishing Awards, who join a very illustrious group of recipients over the last six years. Our winners are a fine mix of new and old and large and small, and show the incredibly broad range of independent publishing in the UK today. What they all have in common is a can-do attitude, an ambition to take advantage of digital opportunities and a great spirit of independence.”