Clinton, Patterson and King make CrimeFest shortlist

Clinton, Patterson and King make CrimeFest shortlist

Bill Clinton, James Patterson and Stephen King are on the CrimeFest Awards shortlist, which this year features a mix of established names and new talent. 

Patterson and the former US President Bill Clinton will be fighting it out in the listener-voted Audible Sounds of Crime Award with other competition including King and heavyweights Ian Rankin and Peter May.
Laura Lippman, New York Times bestselling detective novelist has been shortlisted for the eDunnit Award for her noir masterpiece Sunburn, alongside the latest in Khurrum Rahman’s Jay Qasim series Home Grown Hero and Sarah Ward’s chilling new mystery The Shrouded Path.
The shortlist for the H.R.F. Keating Award for best non-fiction book includes Arthur Conan Doyle’s Art of Fiction: A Revaluation by Nils Clausson, alongside Historical Noir by past winner Barry Forshaw and Laura Joyce & Henry Sutton’s Domestic Noir.
Dave Shelton has been shortlisted for best children’s crime novel for The Book Case: An Emily Lime Mystery, alongside Nicki Thornton’s The Last Chance Hotel and Fleur Hitchcock’s Murder At Twilight.
Alongside the children’s shortlist, the shortlist for best YA crime novel includes Tom Pollock for his debut, White Rabbit, Red Wolf, alongside father and son duo Neal and Jarrod Shusterman for Dry as well as David Almond for The Colour of the Sun, Mel Darbon for Rosie Loves Jack, as well as Nikesh Shukla for Run, Riot and Carnegie Medal nominee Julia Gray for Little Liar.
The winners will be announced at the CrimeFest Gala Awards Dinner hosted by Toastmaster Robert Thorogood, creator of Death in Paradise, on Saturday 11th May.
CrimeFest co-host Adrian Muller said: "Being able to honour the best in crime fiction, and the books related to the genre, with the CrimeFest Awards is one of the highlights of organising the convention. My co-host Donna Moore and I are always eager to see who the judges vote for. This year, the fact that we have longer shortlists indicate how strong the contenders were."

The full shortlist below: 

Audible Sounds of Crime Award nominees:

  • Ben Aaronovitch for Lies Sleeping, read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith (Orion Publishing Group)
  • Louise Candlish for Our House, read by Deni Francis & Paul Panting (Whole Story Audiobooks)
  • Bill Clinton & James Patterson for The President Is Missing, read by Dennis Quaid, January LaVoy, Peter Ganim, Jeremy Davidson, Mozhan Marnò and Bill Clinton (Random House Audiobooks)
  • Robert Galbraith for Lethal White, read by Robert Glenister (Hachette Audio)
  • Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen for The Wife Between Us, read by Julia Whelan (Pan Macmillan Publishers)
  • Stephen King for The Outsider, read by Will Patton (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Clare Mackintosh for Let Me Lie, read by Gemma Whelan & Clare Mackintosh (Little, Brown Book Group)
  • Peter May for I'll Keep You Safe, read by Anna Murray & Peter Forbes (riverrun)
  • Ian Rankin for In a House of Lies, read by James MacPherson (Orion Publishing Group)
  • Sarah Vaughan for Anatomy of a Scandal, read by Julie Teal, Luke Thompson, Esther Wane and Sarah Feathers (Simon & Schuster Audio UK)

eDunnit  Award nominees:

  • Leye Adenle for When Trouble Sleeps (Cassava Republic Press)
  • Steve Cavanagh for Thirteen (Orion Fiction)
  • Martin Edwards for Gallows Court (Head of Zeus)
  • Laura Lippman for Sunburn (Faber and Faber)
  • Khurrum Rahman for Homegrown Hero (HQ – HarperCollins)
  • Andrew Taylor for The Fire Court (HarperCollins)
  • Sarah Ward for The Shrouded Path (Faber and Faber)

H.R.F. Keating Award nominees:

  • Nils Clausson for Arthur Conan Doyle’s Art of Fiction (Cambridge Scholars Publishing)
  • Brian Cliff for Irish Crime Fiction (Palgrave Macmillan)
  • Glen S. Close for Female Corpses in Crime Fiction (Palgrave Macmillan)
  • Laura Joyce & Henry Sutton for Domestic Noir (Palgrave Macmillan)
  • Barry Forshaw for Historical Noir (No Exit Press)
  • Steven Powell for The Big Somewhere: Essays on James Ellroy's Noir World (Bloomsbury)
  • James Sallis for Difficult Lives - Hitching Rides (No Exit Press)

Last Laugh Award nominees:

  • Simon Brett for A Deadly Habit (Crème de la Crime - Severn House)
  • Christopher Fowler for Bryant & May - Hall of Mirrors (Transworld)
  • Mario Giordano for Auntie Poldi and the Fruits of the Lord (John Murray)
  • Mick Herron for London Rules (John Murray)
  • Khurrum Rahman for Homegrown Hero (HQ – HarperCollins)
  • Lynne Truss for A Shot in the Dark (Bloomsbury)
  • Antti Tuomainen for Palm Beach Finland (Orenda Books)
  • Olga Wojtas for Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Golden Samovar (Contraband - Saraband)

Best Crime Novel for Children nominees:

  • P.G. Bell for The Train to Impossible Places (Usborne Publishing)
  • Fleur Hitchcock for Murder At Twilight (Nosy Cow)
  • S.A. Patrick for A Darkness of Dragons (Usborne Publishing)
  • Dave Shelton for The Book Case: An Emily Lime Mystery (David Fickling Books)
  • Lauren St. John for Kat Wolfe Investigates (Macmillan Children's Books)
  • Nicki Thornton for The Last Chance Hotel (Chicken House)

Best Crime Novel for Young Adults nominees:

  • David Almond for The Colour of the Sun (Hodder Children's Books)
  • Mel Darbon for Rosie Loves Jack (Usborne Publishing)
  • Julia Gray for Little Liar (Andersen Press)
  • Tom Pollock for White Rabbit, Red Wolf (Walker Books)
  • Nikesh Shukla for Run, Riot (Hodder Children's Books)
  • Neal & Jarrod Shusterman for Dry (Walker Books)