Child, Billingham & Mina on Theakstons longlist

Child, Billingham & Mina on Theakstons longlist

Lee Child, Mark Billingham and Denise Mina are among the authors longlisted for the 10th Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award.

The three, who have all won the award in previous years, are joined by 15 other authors on the long list.

Mina [pictured with sponsor Simon Theakston], who won in 2012 and 2013, is aiming to defend her title with The Red Road (Orion).

Child, who won the award in 2011, is longlisted for his 17th Jack Reacher novel, A Wanted Man (Transworld).

Two-time winner Billingham is longlisted for his Tom Thorne novel, The Dying Hours (Little, Brown), while Ian Rankin is longlisted for Standing in Another Man’s Grave (Orion), his first new Rebus novel in five years.

There are two debuts author on the list - Malcolm Mackay for The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter (Pan Macmillan) and Richard Crompton for The Honey Guide (Orion).

The Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing and is open to crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1st May 2013 to 30th April 2014.

The 2014 Award is run in partnership with T&R Theakston Ltd, WHSmith, and Radio Times.

The long list is selected by an academy of crime writing authors, agents, editors, reviewers, members of the Crime Writing Festival Programming Committee and representatives from T&R Theakston Ltd and WHSmith.

From 22nd May to 19th June, the longlisted titles will feature in a four-week campaign across all 600 WHSmith stores and 80 library services, representing a total of 1,645 library branches. The six shortlisted titles will be announced on 30th June.

The overall winner will be decided by a panel of judges, as well as members of the public who can vote online from 3rd July to 15th July.

The winner will be announced on 17th July, the opening night of the 12th Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate.

The winner will receive a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakstons Old Peculier.
The full longlist:

Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer (Transworld)
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)
The Dying Hours by Mark Billingham (Little, Brown)
Like This, For Ever by Sharon Bolton (Transworld)
A Wanted Man by Lee Child (Transworld)
The Honey Guide by Richard Crompton (Orion)
The Cry by Helen Fitzgerald (Faber & Faber)
Dying Fall by Elly Griffiths (Quercus)
Until You're Mine by Samantha Hayes (Random House)
The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter by Malcolm Mackay (Pan Macmillan)
The Chessmen by Peter May (Quercus)
I Hear The Sirens In The Street by Adrian McKinty (Profile Books)
The Red Road by Denise Mina (Orion)
Ratlines by Stuart Neville (Vintage)
Standing in Another Man's Grave by Ian Rankin (Orion)
Children of the Revolution by Peter Robinson (Hodder & Stoughton)
Eleven Days by Stav Sherez (Faber & Faber)
Weirdo by Cathi Unsworth (Profile Books)