Chair of Forward prizes resigns

<p>Poet Michael Donaghy has stepped down as chair of the judges for this year's Forward Poetry Prizes after controversy over the selection of its shortlists. The move follows accusations that the publishing allegiances of some judges had unfairly influenced the selection of the lists. Donaghy and a fellow judge, Sean O'Brien, have both recently been published by Macmillan imprint Picador, which has two of the five titles on the shortlist for best collection.</p><p> Claims of bias have been made by Neil Astley, managing director of poetry specialist Bloodaxe, which has no titles on the lists...

This is subscriber-only content

Not a subscriber? Get unrestricted access to all the news, charts, previews, data & analysis by subscribing from as little as £3 per week.

Why Subscribe?

Every issue of The Bookseller magazine

Unlimited access to (single user)

The Bookseller e-edition app for tablet and mobile

Subscriber-only newsletters

Twice yearly Buyer's Guides worth £50

Discounts on The Bookseller Awards and Conferences

Click here to subscribe now